Cooking Thursday: Fajitas!

I’ve had a GREAT week … the kind of week I like – none of my plans have been unexpectedly interrupted!!  God’s been gracious to me and let me have a week that has been all my own!  I am SO grateful – and have been quite productive!  🙂

Today I’m even able to participate in COOKING THURSDAY!
I love this recipe I’m about to share.  I’ve used it for over 10 years (more so a long time ago because it involves flank steak, which we don’t buy much any more – but today it is in the budget to buy some!)
Sizzling Steak Fajitas
(and I want to say this recipe is even from COOKING LIGHT magazine so it’s even good for you – well, if you don’t add a bunch of sour cream!)
3/4 lb lean flank steak
2 tsp cumin
2 tsp chili powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/8 tsp garlic powder
1/8 tsp black pepper
1/8 tsp ground red pepper
4 8-inch flour tortillas
1 tsp vegetable oil
2 c. sliced onion
1/3 c. green pepper strips
1/3 c. red pepper strips
1/3 c. yellow pepper strips
1 Tbsp lime juice
1/4 c. sour cream
Slice the flank steak diagonally across the grain into thin strips.
Combine steak with the next 6 ingredients in a zip top bag; seal & shake well to coat.
Heat tortillas according to pkg directions.
Heat 1 tsp oil in a large, non-stick skillet over med-high heat.
Add steak and onions and peppers;
saute’ for about 6 minutes or til steak is done.
Remove from heat; stir in lime juice.
Divide mixture evenly among the 4 tortillas & roll up.
Serve w/ sour cream.
Garnish w/ salsa and/or cilantro sprigs.
This entry was posted in recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cooking Thursday: Fajitas!

  1. That sounds delicious!

  2. Jen says:

    We love any type of fajitas here! I can't believe I missed it from Cooking Light. Thanks for sharing. Have a great week.

  3. It is well says:

    Yum! Must be Mexican night…we're having enchilada casserole here! Glad you are having a good week. I am, too…it's quite an adjustment being at home after working and volunteering so much over the past few years. I'm finding new joy and fulfillment in doing the everyday, simple things. Today I made chicken salad for lunch using the last of the rotisserie chicken we had for dinner Tuesday night. I'm trying to get back to cooking more at home. We've been on a fast-food binge almost since we put the house on the market in March, and that's not good–for the pocketbook OR the waistline!Love the new photos of you and MiMi too!

  4. melanie says:

    Yum. I shouldn't read this at lunchtime ~ making me hungry! ;-)Are you cooking this for supper tonight? And how long does it take to drive down there??

Comments are closed.