Cooking Thursday – EASY Chicken Pot Pie

I’m still learning to cook … Truth be told, I don’t really LOVE to cook although the more I figure out the whole process, the more I enjoy it.  Mostly I enjoy the reaction of my family when I place something yummy in front of them.  🙂  It used to be that I really only knew how to cook things like tacos, spaghetti, boxed mix meals, etc. – but over time, I’ve gathered receipes, tried recipes from blogs, and watched/learned from friends who are great cooks.  It’s not that my mother failed me – but she is like me and is somewhat of a reluctant cook.  My Oma (see pic on my header!) was the ULTIMATE good cook.  She actually went to school to learn home economics and cooking (and not that fancy, gourmet cooking – but down-home, basic goodness cooking; it was actually a program in the late 1930s called the League of German Maidens in East Prussia where she lived).  She met my Opa (grandfather) because she had a job cooking for soldiers in World War II.  He was a hungry engineer, who perhaps fell a little in love with her cooking as much as he fell for her!!? 

In any case, I say all that to say, here’s a new recipe I tried this week.  I have since received a recipe for making pot pie from “scratch” but this is the quick, easy recipe I found on allrecipes.com (with a little tweaking from me). 

EASY Chicken Pot Pie:

(2) refridgerated or frozen pie crusts, thawed/ready to bake
about 3 chicken breasts, poached (?) in boiling water, shredded
1 can cream of chicken soup
about 1 cup milk
bag of frozen peas & carrots, cooked a few minutes less then what prescribed to cook completely
a few potatoes (I had some golden ones I didn’t need to peel), cubed (I put them in raw; they were just a little undercooked – so next time, I might boil or microwave them slightly before adding)
s & p, seasoning

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Prick one of the pie crusts & bake for about 8-10 minutes (to prevent a soggy bottom pie!).  In a bowl, mix up chicken, soup, milk, veggies, potatoes.  Sprinkle on salt, pepper, and whatever seasoning you prefer (I used poultry seasoning).  Pour mixture into pie crust.  Cover w/ 2nd crust; pinch at seams.  Cut a few slits in top. 
Bake 30-35 minutes.  You could brush w/ egg white before baking, if you’re ambitious.  I wasn’t.  🙂
Let cool.
ONE PIE fed my family of 4 with no left-overs (Miriam didn’t get any).

This entry was posted in recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cooking Thursday – EASY Chicken Pot Pie

  1. It is well says:

    Sounds yummy…pot pie is one of our favorites…and I always use the ready-made pie crusts and the chicken soups! Yeah, we could get our kitchens all flour-y and roll our own pie crust, but pillsbury does it better than I can!I have a lot of picky eaters…one won't eat carrots, one won't eat peas, one won't eat either! My solution, arrived at by accident, is to use veggies I have on hand that they DO like..corn, green beans, and broccoli are things I've tried. Great if you have just a small serving of something left over! My secret to nice soft potatoes in my pot pie? Buy a CAN of sliced or diced potatoes, drain, dump it in! They are often on sale, especially the store brand.

  2. melanie says:

    I'm sure it was yummy! =)

Comments are closed.