Wishy-Washy

I love the Peanuts cartoons … so does my family.  Charlie Brown, Snoopy, and “the gang” have been a part of my entire life it seems – the comic strip and the tv specials (and our high school even performed the musical, “You’re A Good Man, Charlie Brown” in the mid-1980s).

My kids have read Peanuts books as well.  In fact, when Anna was about 5 or 6 years old, she told me that Andrew was like Linus and she that she wanted to be Lucy.  I asked her why – and she said, “Because then I’d be allowed to say ‘you stupid blockhead’.”  Well, ok, so maybe it wasn’t always the BEST influence.

I felt so much empathy for Charlie Brown – poor kid!  Dan has been reading:

Charles Schulz apparently saw life much like Charlie Brown did.  And maybe many of us do feel like him at times – never winning that elusive baseball game, never getting that stupid kite to fly, never talking to the little red headed girl.  Lately, I’ve been relating to Charlie Brown’s problem of being wishy-washy!   I found this Peanuts snippet the other day:

“Charlie Brown: Next year I’m going to be a changed person!

Lucy: That’s a laugh, Charlie Brown.

Charlie Brown: I mean it! I’m going to be strong and firm.

Lucy: Forget it. You’ll always be wishy-washy.

Charlie Brown: Why can’t I change just a little bit? I’ll be wishy one day and washy the next!”   (31 Dec 65)
 
I’ve wanted to make great changes in my life too!  I’ve wanted to eat healthier, live more frugally, be more spiritually-minded, be a better housekeeper/homemaker, etc etc etc.
I have so many goals and hopes for myself – and yet, some days I just don’t feel like I’m getting ANYWHERE. 
 
I am extremely hard on myself often, but seriously, I still have so much to learn and to change.  I disappoint myself so often.  So, how does one cope with the failure and the let-down? 
 
Should one be like Charlie Brown who said, “I’ve developed a new philosophy.  I now only dread one day at a time.” or “That’s the secret to life … replace one worry with another.” 
 
No, there is always HOPE.  If we are a Christian, we have the Lord who is looking out for us.  Not be too irreverent, but I think He might say something to us like Charlie Brown once said to Snoopy when he was filling his supper dish:

“Are you upset little friend? Have you been lying awake worrying? Well, don’t worry…I’m here. The flood waters will recede, the famine will end, the sun will shine tomorrow, and I will always be here to take care of you.”

This entry was posted in Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wishy-Washy

  1. melanie says:

    Oh, I like the supper dish quote! =)

Comments are closed.