Sometimes It’s Just Better NOT to Know …

Did you read my post on Sunday about my attempt to cook a raw, bloody piece of ham for the first time ever – and what a city girl I am that I failed miserably?
The ham turned out AWFUL – and we ended up giving most of it to the DOG!

WELL … today I found out that this piece of HAM was actually DEER HAM.  I’ve NEVER heard of such a thing … but obviously, there IS such a thing.  I cooked Bambi. 

(P.S.  If you don’t know my writing style, you may think I’m being serious.  In this case IT IS SERIOUS… No, not really.  It’s funny.  I’m being funny … and I have NOTHING against hunting.  As long as you don’t share your meat with me!!)  😉 

This entry was posted in Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sometimes It’s Just Better NOT to Know …

  1. melanie says:

    I'm thinking "ham" comes from the rump, but it should be cured to be tasty. Otherwise it's just a pork roast (in the case of the ugly swine) And Bambi probably needs marinade. Except Bambi was a boy, right? Dog food for sure.=)

  2. melanie says:

    …laughing at your P.S. =)

  3. Mrs. Doug says:

    Well, no wonder it was dry… and grey… I don't have lots of experience with deer meat, but when I have cooked it I do it in the pressure cooker with lots of herbs and salt and pepper. Venison and other wild meats should be cooked well also, just like pork, to avoid tricinosis or 'round worm' see here:https://health.google.com/health/ref/TrichinosisSorry it didn't work out, but also wondering why it was so bloody. We have had venison that was killed on the road and wasn't as bloody as that. Yup… road-kill cafe. Around here if it's still warm and or moving you can call the game warden and take it home. We just finished up the last of the venison from about 2 years ago. If it isn't stewed it can be really tough too. There's got to be someone out there who's had lots of experience cooking venison. My preference is to grind it up and make venison burgers. At least that way it's not too tough.Doesn't sound like you'll be eating lots of venison though… so probably not at the top of your list of priorities.

  4. Renee says:

    I've never heard of anything but a pork ham… wonder if folks said that just so you would take and try the meat

Comments are closed.