Holiday Recipe Exchange – Pumpkin Cheesecake

I have already mentioned the GREAT giveaways at Mama Buzz just in time for the HOLIDAYS (winners will be picked on Nov 16).  This is in conjunction with a Holiday Recipe Exchange.  I love recipes.  I have recipes coming out of my ears; and yet, I still want MORE, especially at the holidays!! 
If you are like me and LOVE recipes (and giveaways!), go check out the recipes and the prizes at Mama Buzz.

Here is my contribution for the recipe exchange:

First, a true confession.  I really don’t like pumpkin.  I really don’t like pumpkin pie especially… I know, I know, very un-American, but you must remember my taste buds are 100% German!!  🙂  I *do* however love this pumpkin cheesecake recipe!!  I’ve made it several times since I first acquired it in the mid-1990s!  It is tried & true. 

PUMPKIN CHEESECAKE
(this recipe is from Cooking Light magazine, from like 1996 or 97!  If you use the suggested “low fat” items, it will, of course, be less calories – so you can EAT MORE!!  Or you can just go FULL FAT too.  The low-fat version is surprisingly very good & has a nice texture.)

(this cheesecake can be prepared up to 3 days before serving!)

CRUST:
option 1 – buy a graham cracker crust
option 2 – make your own crust (preferable):
56 vanilla wafers (there is a reduced fat variety available too)
1 Tbsp butter, melted (or margarine, melted)
cooking spray

FILLING:
3 (8 oz) blocks of (fat free) cream cheese, softened
2 (8 oz) blocks of (1/3 less fat) cream cheese, softened
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
3 Tbsp all-purp flour
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1 tsp ground ginger
1/4 tsp salt
dash of allspice
2 tsp vanilla
4 large eggs
1 (15 oz) can pumpkin

PREHEAT OVEN TO 400 degrees.

For homemade crust, pulse graham crackers in food processor, add butter, pulse 10x’s.  Press mixture into 9 inch spring form that was coated w/ cooking spray (PAM).  Bake at 400 for 10 minutes.  Let cool.

Reduce oven heat to 325 degrees.  Prepare filling:
Beat cheeses with mixer at highest setting until smooth.  Add sugar and next 8 ingredients, beat well.  Add eggs, one at a time, beating after each.  Add pumpkin, beat well. 
Pour filling into crust.  Bake at 325 for 1 1/2 hours (until center barely moves when pan is touched).  Run a knife around the outside edge.  Cool.
Cover & chill at least 8 hours. 

YIELD:  16 servings.

This entry was posted in recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Holiday Recipe Exchange – Pumpkin Cheesecake

  1. Gina says:

    Yum! I love pumpkin cheesecake! I need to make this! Gina

Comments are closed.