My Christmas Command Center (Elmer’s #CanYouTopThis Project)

Mel at Mamabuzz has issued a challenge:  what can YOU do with a simple Elmer’s tri-fold display board. 
She made a fabulous advent calendar with hers (check it out here).  5 winners will be chosen – and will receive a $100 Walmart gift card!! 
I must preface my post by saying:  I AM NOT CRAFTY.  I like crafts well enough IF someone else is guiding me … so this was really a challenge for me.  HOWEVER, I do LOVE organization, and so it was logical for me to make my tri-fold display into my “Christmas Command Center” – a portable base of information to keep me straight on who I’m buying gifts for, what is on my calendar, and what’s cooking!! 

My #CanYouTopThis project is somewhat minimalistic … however, if you made this project, you could decorate it as elaborately as you wish.  I prefer the simpleness of the white space and an uncluttered look. 

WHAT YOU NEED for a CHRISTMAS COMMAND CENTER:

1 Elmer’s tri-fold display board (I got mine at Walmart for about $4)
scrap book paper and/or construction paper
any crafty items you prefer – stickers, sticky (post-it) notes, tacks, glue, etc
(I had everything but the display board at home already.)

SIMPLE BEGINNINGS:

 I made my own December 2010 calendar, which is the centerpiece of my board.  I just glued the scrapbook paper right on to the board.  You could always print off a standard calendar page from your computer.

 On the right side, I put up sheets for 2 lists:  My Menu and My Gift List.  Scrapbook paper is my base; and I was able to use THUMBTACKS to later tack on my lists (they stuck very well into the display board!):

 Under my calendar, I added my TO DO LIST and GROCERY LIST.  The grocery list is a sticky-note pad so I can pull off my list and take it with me when I’m ready to go shopping. 

 On the left side, I made a fun Christmas Light Countdown Section:

 I cut my bulbs out of construction paper.
 You can either add a bulb a day from 1 to 25, tracking the date, OR from 25 to 1, counting down to ONE DAY TIL CHRISTMAS. I taped my bulbs on, but you could also easily use stick glue.

LEFT SIDE:

 The completed MIDDLE SECTION:

 RIGHT SIDE:

 FINISHED COMMAND CENTER:

#CanYouTopThis ????  If you can, link up over at MamaBuzz!!  You have until December 1 to enter your project.

This entry was posted in crafts, give away. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Christmas Command Center (Elmer’s #CanYouTopThis Project)

  1. I love this! What a great way to get yourself organized for the holidays. Nice job!

  2. Great job & a great idea! I'm so Type A and would love to have my schedule all laid out like this 🙂

  3. I love the countdown 🙂 Thanks so much for participating

  4. melanie says:

    Cute, Conny ~ I like the countdown too!I could easily spend $100 at Walmart, but I hope YOU win! =)

  5. Mel says:

    Conny, that is awesome! I love the Christmas light countdown! I need something like this to show me exactly what needs done every single day….something like this would be in my face, so I wouldn't forget a thing.:) Very creative! Thanks for linking up and joining the challenge.:) I'll be tweeting your project sometime today.

Comments are closed.