30 Days of Thanks (Day 23)

Sometimes I get a little grumpy … a little discouraged … down on myself, on my life, on “things”.  When I start realizing it and working on coming out of it, I am often confronted with the fact that the reason I got grumpy, discouraged, and down was because I got my eyes off God’s goodness and onto MYSELF. 

I am not so impressive by any means.  Anything I have, I have because God gave it to me.  I don’t have much to teach, but I have so much to learn.  I don’t have many talents, but I do have a few abilities.  I don’t have much materially, but I have more than I need … and all that only because of God’s grace.

Today on facebook, one of the book groups I follow asked the question:  What are you most thankful for TODAY.  And at the moment, I could only think of ONE THING:  “Because of God’s mercies we are not consumed.  Each day is a gift from Him.” 

Lamentations 3:22-23:


22It is of the LORD’s mercies that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not.
23They are new every morning: great is thy faithfulness.

Great is Thy Faithfulness, Oh, God, My Father …
There is no shadow of turning with Thee.
Thou changest not,Thy compassions, they fail not.
As Thou hast been, Thou forever shall be.

Great is thy faithfulness! Great is thy faithfulness!



Morning by morning new mercies I see;


all I have needed thy hand hath provided;


great is thy faithfulness, Lord, unto me!



Summer and winter and springtime and harvest,
sun, moon and stars in their courses above
join with all nature in manifold witness
to thy great faithfulness, mercy and love.

This entry was posted in thankfulness. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 30 Days of Thanks (Day 23)

  1. melanie says:

    Good thoughts ♥

Comments are closed.