30 Days of Thanks (Day 30)!!

I remember November 30, 2009 so well:  I was 35 weeks pregnant (3 weeks away from meeting a little girl that has blessed our entire family so much!); I was turning 39 years old; and I had just worked my last day as an employee of our church & its Christian school. 
So much has happened in the last year – so much I’m thankful for. 

Today, in honor of my 40th birthday today (I can’t believe I’m admitting that on the internet – but really, it’s nothing to be ashmaed of), I’m listing 40 things I am thankful for.  But first, I want to say THANK YOU to those who read my blog this month and to all those who participated with me.  I hesitate to name anyone in particular because I’d hate to leave someone out, BUT I must say a special thanks to my friend Bobbie Jo who was the only one who was able to link up EVERY DAY this month!!

40 REASONS I AM THANKFUL:

1.  I am thankful for blogs.  I have finally found an outlet for my writing – and somewhere I can get feedback, have fun, share, and contemplate.  I’ve made some new friends along the way, and I’ve connected in a whole different way with some real life friends who blog too.  I’ve had some really cool opportunities come my way like contributing articles for MamaBzz.com.  Since March, I’ve gotten $115 in amazon gift cards from swagbucks.com.  And even yesterday, I found out I won a $10 gift card to Starbucks from a blog-friend (and fellow German-American), Monika Hardy.  Blogging is a great hobby!  🙂

2.  I should be spiritual and say that I am thankful for God saving my soul & making me whole … THANK YOU, LORD, for giving to me, Thy great salvation so rich and free.  Everything I have, everything I am, is due to Him. 

3.  I am thankful for the family I have been given.  Not only are my parents and my in-laws Christians, I have been blessed with a wonderful husband (one of the good guys!).  🙂  I no longer take Dan for granted – I’ve seen too many marriages that are broken or end in divorce over time, and it is only by God’s grace and a lot of effort to love and understand each other that I am happily married today.  I’m so thankful for the last almost 18 years that Dan has loved me unconditionally, even as Christ loved the church (Eph 5:25).  I am thankful that I’m learning more and more about respecting him as well. 

4.  If you know me, you know I’m especially thankful for my 3 children – and even for the one baby we lost at 8 weeks gestation.  Every child is a miracle, and my children defied the odds that the doctors had given us for even having one child.  I’m thankful for the modern medicine and the long-ago surgery that allowed us to have these children. 

5.  I’m thankful for good health.  Knowing and reading about many who are suffering from diseases and illness and debilitating results of accidents, I don’t take each pain-free day for granted.  One of my biggest fears in life is cancer, but I know that even if this ugly disease comes into our family that God will provide the grace to face it.  I am thankful for God’s healing – my dad & my father-in-law have both survived prostate cancer.  I’m thankful God is our Great Physician. 

::::: TO BE CONTINUED :::::
I don’t want to overwhelm anyone with my ramblings – and I probably need to do a few other things for now anyway.  I’ll be back with #6-40 – which will hopefully be more concise.  🙂

If you would like to share what you are thankful for today, please link up! 

This entry was posted in birthday, thankfulness. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 30 Days of Thanks (Day 30)!!

  1. Pingback: COMING SOON: November | An Ordinary Hausfrau

  2. Happy Birthday! Thanks for hosting this again this year! Hopefully next year I will have a little more free time to post every day if you do it again!

  3. First….HAPPY 40th BIRTHDAY!!!!!! :)I can't wait to turn 40!!!! And yes I am serious!!!Second……..thanks for mentioning me. I will have my 30th post up later today-got to go to church first. 🙂

  4. melanie says:

    What a great way to celebrate your birthday, Conny!{{hugs}}

  5. Happy birthday Conny!Have a nice day!

Comments are closed.