Day 30 (#6-15)

40 Things (cont.)

In honor of my 40th birthday today, I am listing 40 things I am thankful for.  For #1-5, go here.

Here are some absolutely frivolous things I am thankful for that make life on this old earth just a little bit more fun:

6.  chocolate.  Need I say more??  Well, I could just say – GERMAN MILK CHOCOLATE!!!  Oh, and Nutella.  LOVE LOVE LOVE Nutella. 

7.  coffee.  Thank you, God, for creating the coffee bean and Starbucks.  Starbucks gave me a FREE DRINK OF MY CHOICE gift card for my birthday.  Plus I just won a $10 gift card as well.  I’m set!

8. for God allowing humans to be carnivores if they so choose.  As much as I am grossed out by the processing of raw meats, I love a good steak, cooked medium well.  YUM!!!!!!!! 

9.  Panera Bread Company.  Our tiny town is getting a Panera Bread Co., opening in December.  Again – like Starbucks – an over-priced pleasure … but oh so worth it for a treat-yourself experience. AND I currently have a little gift card for filling out a survey for Panera.  How convenient.  🙂

10.  Chick-Fil-A.  I drive 80 miles to my nearest Chick-Fil-A here in Middle-of-No-Where, Missouri.  Whenever we go “home” to Tennessee, my preferred stop for lunch/dinner is the first Chick-Fil-A we can find – there is one at the mall in Paducah, KY and one by Nashville …  I grew up in the Land of Chick-Fil-A, and many students from the Christian college I attended worked there.  I love that they are closed on Sundays … God bless Chick-Fil-A. 

11.  Schnitzel.  If you’ve never had a REAL German Schnitzel made by a real German cook or at a real German restaurant, well, I pity you.  ;0)  Oh, and I like mine with a side of red cabbage. 

12.  FOOD … apparently I am very thankful for stuffing my face with delicious foods and beverages.  This might explain my weight problem.  😉  Seriously, we are SO blessed in America with the variety and abudance (and dare I say EXCESS) of food.  I don’t really think I have ever been truly hungry in my life time.

13.  On a less costly note, I am thankful too for Goodwill … our town happens to have a very good Goodwill store – it’s open, bright, clean, and well organized.  It’s a treasure hunt to go there – my entire family loves to go.

14.  Our Goodwill store happens to be located right beside a wonderful, affordable Mexican restaurant that I am also thankful for:  El Jimador (locals lovingly call it El Jimmy’s). 

15.  I’m thankful for my therapist/hair stylist whose shop happens to be in the same shopping center as Goodwill and El Jimmy’s.  I specifically budget so I can go visit her on a regular basis.  For the first time in my life, I have a beautician who does my hair so well that I do not have to come home & re-do it. 

:::::::::::: TO BE CONTINUED :::::::::::::::::

This entry was posted in thankfulness. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 30 (#6-15)

  1. Mrs. Doug says:

    Sooooo happy birthday Conny. I agree with everything except I've never been to Chick-fil-a or El Jimmy's or your hairdresser. I love it all… chocolate included :)I can't believe this month went soooo fast. Actually this day is flying by too… already lunch time.A good hairdresser is a special blessing. My hair dresser is no longer around. Her husband joined the guards and has been stationed in Texas… so she's off to be with him… can't blame her. Guess that's little more important than cutting my hair. I only go the the hairdresser once a year. (I can hear you chuckling). It's my annual spring haircut. I can't stand all that long hair all summer. One summer I suffered through it, but had my hair tied up all the time… yuk!I hope you get to do some fun stuff on your birthday.Thanks for inviting us to share in the 30 days of thanks. It has been a wonderful exercise on remembering how faithful God is.Have a HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!!

Comments are closed.