Happy New Year … (catching up)

It’s been so long since I wrote a post, I think I’ve forgotten how to blog.  Actually, ideas for my little piece of internet are never far from my imagination and thoughts, but I just haven’t had the time to put them into action! 

So anyway, Happy New Year!  Here’s what’s been going on with us:
We spent last week in the Great State of Tennessee.

I wasn’t born in Tennessee … in fact, I wasn’t even born in America, but having lived in Tennessee for 11 of my “growing up” years, I think I can safely claim it as my own.  My parents have settled there, and Tennessee has been a part of my life since 1981.  It was our “home of record” while we were in the military, and I was very sad to give up my Tennessee driver’s license and license plates a few years ago (especially since Missouri charges a lot more for licensing and obligates you to a lot more hassle for vehicle inspections, etc.).  So, Rocky Top, you’ll always be – home sweet home to meeeeeee…. 

We drove back to Missouri on New Year’s Day, which also happens to be my husband’s birthday!  Phew, we’ve now officially survived our holiday/special day season – and we don’t have to throw another party or eat another cake until September!  🙂  Other than Andrew’s birthday in September, we celebrate pretty much every major family event and holiday between November 4th and January 1st. 

I wasn’t really looking forward to coming back to Missouri at all – our area had just been hit with some tornadoes (touched down on the near-by Army post – very near the housing area where we lived for 3 years!!); thankfully, though several houses and barracks were damaged, no one from our church or school “family” lost anything (one family is going to have to move into another house due to the damage). 

Our pastor’s wife’s parents were both hospitalized – in critical condition – right after Christmas.  In fact, her mother passed away tonight (her father will hopefully recover).  I knew that would involve extra work from everyone, though OF COURSE we are all glad to help – and pray – and cry with them.  And then there are other issues which I can’t even begin to discuss … but Satan never sleeps.  He is hard at work, trying to destroy families and ruin relationships.  😦 

Tonight my thoughts are very much with those who are hurting … We received another phone call tonight from old friends whose son passed away in his sleep yesterday (he had cerebral palsy); and I just can’t imagine. 

What a sobering reminder to cherish each day, even each moment.  We are not guaranteed tomorrow.  Appreciate your family; love your spouse (you don’t always have to LIKE them – just LOVE them!!).  🙂  Set aside the selfishness that deludes you into believing you are unhappy because of your circumstances … trust that GOD is working despite the circumstances.  Love and happiness are choices we have to make each day – make the RIGHT choice.  Determine to LOVE God and do right – no matter what.  Let go of your agendas and plans, and just let God guide each step.  His ways are not our ways anyway… His ways are far better. 

I’m speaking to myself more than anyone … My heart is full of sad thoughts of time being wasted and lives being damaged and hurts being committed.  I hate this old world of sin more today than I ever have – and yet, I am hopeful that 2011 will be a year of great joy!  Not because life is easy, not because things will go my way, not even because I plan to be very successful – but just because GOD is still in control. 

Now unto him that is able to do exceeding abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that worketh in us…To him be glory in the church by Christ Jesus throughout all ages, world without end. Amen.

(Ephesians 3:20-21)

This entry was posted in Devotional Thoughts, holiday, Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy New Year … (catching up)

  1. melanie says:

    It IS encouraging to remember that our GOOD God is in control!

Comments are closed.