Yawn!

It’s FRIDAY!!!  I’m so thankful this week is coming to an end.  What a way to begin the new year. 
This week started off with a bang – and only got crazier as it went by…

I was back at school on Monday and Tuesday, helping out in the lunchroom as our lunch aide was ill.  I did okay the first day, serving hotdogs … but I blew it the second day when we serve peanut butter & jelly sandwiches.  You’d think pb&j was EASY … but we serve the frozen Smucker’s Uncrustables which should be DE-THAWED for an hour or more before serving.  But I didn’t arrive until a few minutes before lunch started … Good thing 4 and 5 year olds don’t mind a microwaved sandwich.  :-/  20 seconds ALMOST dethaws 2 Uncrustables … just in case you wanted to know.  PS  I so do not recommend these sandwiches – we use them for convenience – but a REAL pb&j is sooooooooooo much tastier!! 

Speaking of pb&j, have you ever had a peanut butter, miracle whip, and dill pickle sandwich??  It’s a family favorite in my husband’s family.  I thought it sounded horrible until I tasted one.  It wasn’t half bad (it wasn’t half good either!), but I sure couldn’t eat more than a few bites.  My husband gets a craving for them every so often. 

Growing up, my mom sometimes made me peanut butter & honey sandwiches for lunch OR another favorite, peanut butter and banana.  And speaking of my mom … so, she was German, we came to the States when I was almost 4 years old.  She’d never packed an “American” school lunch before in her life.  In Germany, the school kids go home at noon for lunch (though there are lunch programs for those whose parents both work).  Anyway … my mom would wrap my sandwich in plastic and THEN wrap it in aluminum foil!   I think a few years of that, she got over it, but that was just her way of taking care of me.  She wasn’t real thrilled when I started liking fried bologna sandwiches … now there is something *I* get a craving for once in a while!!  🙂

Anyway, I didn’t mean to ramble about sandwiches.  I was going to share about my week, but at this point, I guess I’d better just go do the dishes & laundry.  Suffice it to say, it was a busy week.  Our weekend isn’t looking any slower, but it’s all fun stuff.  Have a GREAT day! 

This entry was posted in Family, Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yawn!

  1. Michelle G says:

    My parents were basically hippies who would get on these "health food kicks" and one month it would be "no bread" or "no honey" (cause I was NEVER allowed sugar – that never changed until I was off on my own!) :)but my mom would pack me the weirdest lunches LOLblack olives in zip lockscelery sticksapple slicesartichoke heartsLOLseriously was VERY healthy but wow was I considered the weird kid at lunch :)I have to tell you though that sandwich combo of your hubbys family…gag. :)never had that one!Have a fabulous weekend!Michelle 🙂

  2. melanie says:

    Soon you'll be so flexible and happy about it, we'll see pictures of you doing a back bend!No? =)Have a great day, Conny ♥

Comments are closed.