Gone, Gone, Gone, Gone …

All the newborn and baby clothes are gone … I packed them up in my car today & took them to a friend who is expecting a baby girl in March.  It’s sad and bittersweet. 

My baby girl will never be able to wear these things again, so may as well pass them on.
(Miriam in January 2010):

Miriam still reminds me that she IS a baby when she wakes up at 5:30 a.m. and wants to nurse for an hour (if I’d let her) … when she reaches up her arms & wants me to pick her up … when she’s getting sleepy and snuggles deep into my arms and into that warm spot under my neck …

And yet Miriam is letting me know she IS growing up!  She gets around with her bizarre sitting-up, dragging her body along with her right arm “crawl” (I wish I knew how to use YouTube because it is the MOST odd form of transportation I’ve ever seen – my pediatrician says she’s seen it before but it is RARE).  She’s into my lower cabinets (where the plastic ware is) and into everything that she can reach (to include the cat litter box).  She can go down our one step into the laundry/utility room & get to cat food & water all by herself now!  She’s figured out how to make her toys work and make noise.  She can rock and kiss her baby.  She blows kisses when we ask her to (usually).  She can say & wave “bye bye”.  She took a few steps at my parents’ house & in the church nursery, but I have yet to see her do it.

(Miriam in January 2011, exploring what is behind Door #3~
A TRAVEL TOOTHBRUSH HOLDER!):
You can’t stop time, so you just have to enjoy each moment!  I’m so thankful for my blog and digital camera where I can capture these precious moments to be reminded of them over & over – and to be thankful for the blessing of all 3 of my children. 
(Side note:  You can now see why we affectionately call Miriam “One Sock On and One Sock Off”) 🙂
This entry was posted in Baby. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gone, Gone, Gone, Gone …

  1. She is such a cutie!! My little "baby" is now 20 months old. I agree, treasure EVERY moment.

  2. joy says:

    Awww…that did happen way too fast! She sure does get prettier every day though!

  3. So cute! I'm always so sad when my kids outgrow the little baby clothes too. I wish we could somehow get the newborn age to last a little longer (but also get them to sleep through the night!) so we could enjoy it a little more.

  4. melanie says:

    My girls are pack-rats obviously ~ they wanted me to keep the highchair, every favorite baby outfit, my electric typewriter (?)I do have boxes of baby clothes ~ If the Lord tarries that long, they will have plenty of dated clothing, blanket sleepers and onesies to put on their babies =) Miriam is such a cutie! She sure enjoyed that toothbrush holder!

Comments are closed.