Be My Valentine!

Did you know it was only 25 days until Valentine’s Day? …
Personally, I haven’t given it a second thought – BUT I guess I should!! πŸ™‚
My friend Bobbie Jo has directed me to the above meme from this blog:
I have often thought of doing MORE about challenging myself to do MORE for the probably most neglected member of my family, my husband!
As I’ve often said:  I got one of the GOOD GUYS!!!  ❀
I even created my own meme (below) to write some posts about remembering to work on your marriage – but then some of the things I need to work on are pretty personal – or I feel inadequate to share because it’s not like I’m some genius marriage counselor!
In the busy-ness of every day life, I feel like I don’t see my husband very much – or we are going different directions with the kids or other activities – or we are involved in a mutual activity at church BUT that isn’t exactly the time to lay a big kiss on him and say,
“HEY!  I love you!!!  You look so handsome today … “
We just aren’t that big on PDA or all the mushy gooshy in public.  Sadly, these days, we just don’t have make much time for it in private.
After 18 years of marriage and 3 children and time-and-energy-sucking jobs, we are TIRED (and old).
And so, a challenge to reconnect sounds like just what I need.
I DON’T WANT TO FEEL old and tired – I don’t want to neglect the most important (to me) person on this planet.  I am seeing too many marriages around me falling apart or falling into neglect.  I WANT TO WORK ON MAKING MINE BETTER AND BETTER!!!  I realize that takes some effort.
A quote hangs framed in our bedroom, “Grow old with me … the best is yet to be … “
(Browning)
That’s my hope for my marriage and life with Dan.
The challenge for this week is this:
Week 1 starts TODAY! Look for ways to praise your husband verbally. Praise him in front of the kids, friends, family, co-workers, on facebook, tweet it – get praise out anyway you can!
Try to mention something noteworthy he has done – in his role as provider, father, husband, lover, or friend. If the thought of trying to come up with one terrifies you, then pray right now that God will give you new eyes to see your husband as God does. Then open your mouth and say something kind and uplifting to your husband today and tomorrow and the next day until Valentine’s Day arrives!
(if you want a devotional to go along with this Nancy Leigh Demoss has an amazing Marriage Pdf here)
Today I have to mention that my husband is one of the kindest people I know.  He truly “doesn’t have a mean bone in his body” … He is kind to everyone.  He takes a lot from people (and from me).
He handles criticism with a grain of salt – and in his position (as the “administrator” and a teacher at a Christian school), he gets criticized .. believe me, people have even criticized him (perhaps not meaning to) to ME (which turns me into wifey-bear).  πŸ™‚
People’s opinions don’t really phase him though – because he knows what he is doing he is doing for the Lord.  If people agree or don’t agree, it doesn’t really matter.  There are about 10,000 opinions out there about how our Christian school should be run – and many are good ideas – but in the end, if the pastor is happy and the children are learning and the staff is not on the verge of mutiny, we’ve had a good day.
He handles crises (? plural of crisis) so well too.  I think having been a soldier and having been to Iraq (working in a Combat Support Hospital or C*S*H) have given him perspective.  Many a day, someone will come to him in a lather about some GREAT injustice or GIGANTIC problem or HORRIFIC situation, and Dan reacts calmly.  In his mind, if no one has died, no one has lost an eye or a limb, then it can be handled – calmly and kindly as possible.
Many people seem to want swift judgment and harsh punishment (and that includes me occasionally!!) – but my husband is the epitome of MERCY.
Our pastor says it often:  if you want God (and others) to be merciful to you, you MUST be merciful yourself.  I know I want mercy (I NEED a lot of mercy) – and my husband has given me more than my fair share of merciful forgiveness and love and kindness.
See, once I got going, I could have gone on writing all day!!
Now I just need to go tell HIM how I feel!!  πŸ™‚
Check out what others are saying about their husbands during this challenge
and even if you don’t participate in this challenge formally, make sure to say some NICE THINGS to your husband and about your husband every day!!
This entry was posted in Bless His Heart, marriage. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Be My Valentine!

  1. Conny I am so glad you decided to join & thanks for stopping by my blog. I know how you feel about Dan is how I feel about Lonnie. We are very blessed to have some of the good guys. πŸ™‚

  2. melanie says:

    Awww – Bless his heart! Seriously. That was a nice long tribute to your Good Guy!I too am thankful my Good Man β™₯

Comments are closed.