February 2 – Love is Kind

I Corinthians 13:4a
“Charity (love) … is kind …”
According to THE EXCELLENT WIFE, the opposite of kindness is harshness (and criticism). 
I looked to my “old friend” Matthew Henry again, and he says,
“[Love] seeks to be useful; and not only seizes on opportunities of doing good, but SEARCHES FOR THEM.” 
Some people are truly, inherently kind … there is the saying:  “she/he doesn’t have one mean bone in her/his body.”  Others – I’ll admit LIKE ME – have to work harder at being kind – and looking for ways to do good.  I am perfectly happy just watching out for myself.  That doesn’t mean I don’t have sympathy for others, but I have to work harder on finding ways to act on it. 
I find that kindness isn’t even so much in acts and deeds, but also needs to be a part of our words.  It is said of the Proverbs 31 wife (vs. 26b) that “in her tongue is the law of kindness.”  If that is a law, I’m sure guilty of breaking it!!  Harsh, criticising, judgmental words can flow out of one’s mouth without really evaluating them as such. 
It is also said (sarcastically) that Christians are the only religious group that “eat their own” … chew them up and spit them out with ZERO compassion.  There is a variety of reasons I think that happens – it makes SELF look better if you point out all the faults of someone else (my famous line is “MY KIDS would NEVER do that …”).  Sometimes it is because we have a knowledge of what is right – due to much Bible teaching – and therefore feel we can – like Pharisees – sit in judgment of others.  And sometimes, speaking for myself, I just speak unkindly out of bad habit and just NOT thinking before I blab my mind. 
Of course, GOD has ALL the characteristics of LOVE perfectly.  He is kind – and it is this kindness of God that often “leads us to repentance” (Romans 2:4).  It is closely linked to His mercy.  God is very, very kind to us in not letting us face our sin by ourselves.  He sent Jesus to die on the cross as an ultimate act of kindness.
If we serve such a KIND God, should we not strive to live in His Image and share His kindness with others.
“Be ye kind – one to another.” – Ephesians 4:32. 
This entry was posted in Love, Valentine's. Bookmark the permalink.