February 6 – Love Does Not Act Unbecomingly

I Corinthians 13:5, “[Love] doth not behave itself unseemly … “(KJV)

First let’s define our terms:
UNBECOMING:  “unsuitable or inappropriate, especially through being unattractive.  Not proper or seemly for” (as in manners unbecoming a lady OR conduct unbecoming an officer.)  Also like an unbecoming dress (unflattering, inappropriate, or unattractive). 

UNSEEMLY:  “grossly improper … not suited to the circumstances; inappropriate. 
not in good style or taste.  unbecoming.”

Martha Peace who wrote The Excellent Wife does not mince words on this subject:
“A wife acts unbecomingly or rudely when she is disrespectful and not submissive to her husband … A loving wife acts properly and in a manner that is fitting.  She does not respond based on her mood … She has good manners.” 

NOW, in this aspect I really, really bristled a little at Mrs. Peace’s trite, easy assessment and somewhat “narrow” description of acting becomingly (or conversely UNbecomingly) – not that I don’t think she is right or biblical – but I don’t think it is always THAT EASY.  I think I give a little more slack to women concerning their moods … mainly because my hormones have not been normal since puberty (except when I’m pregnant – and I obviously can’t remain pregnant forever!!); and I’ve dealt with my extreme moods all my adult life.  I won’t go into my personal excuses for extended periods of PMS due to poly-cystic ovarian syndrome or the serotonin-affected migraines I have suffered – I believe – in part due to estrogen-dominance in my body; however, I will agree ONE MAY NOT blame one’s MOOD for committing sin.  It is a dangerous thing – I think – to teach our daughters that “during that time of month” they may act or react however they “feel like” – they (and we) have to learn to cope in real life (even if that means hiding out or laying low for a day or two occasionally!).  I won’t go further into that subject – but I seriously do think men/friends need to be aware of hormones and cycles and their effects on a woman AS WELL AS the fact that I believe there ARE cases of serious hormonal deficiencies and imbalance – as in CLINICAL REASONS for mood swings, etc.  Unfortunately, those of us who have to deal with these things will have a harder “row to hoe” as they say.  (and no, I never intended to even GO THERE with this subject at all … THIS IS SUPPOSED TO BE ABOUT LOVE – and I’m chasing rabbits.)

Soooooooo, let’s look to our logical, steady male commentator Matthew Henry about this subject instead:
He very succinctly and reasonably says, “[Love] does nothing out of place or time; but behaves with courtesy and good-will towards all men.” 
Think of behavior that IS seemly and becoming.  It acts appropriately, politely, attractively, and well-mannered.  Love knows how to behave IN PUBLIC and IN PRIVATE.  It doesn’t let a bad mood ruin EVERYONE’S day.  Sometimes that means FAKE IT TIL YOU MAKE IT and ask God to help you MEAN IT. 

This entry was posted in Love, Valentine's. Bookmark the permalink.