A Tired, Old Mom Confesses:

 Miriam is 14 months old today … 14 months!!  My, how time flies. 
This child has changed my life so dramatically – not that my other two children didn’t – but this is the child who is just A LITTLE high maintenance right now.  I’m not sure if it is because I am older and more laid back these days or because I’m older and flat out exhausted … but this baby experience has been like no other. 

With my first two children, I was so “by-the-book” … we ate on a schedule, slept on a schedule, and played on a schedule.  

With this child, we sometimes eat on the floor  🙂

With this child, we do NOT sleep on a schedule – and I may die because of it.  We’ve been working on the whole “sleeping through the night” thing since M was 7 months old … I mean, seriously working on it.  The best we’ve gotten so far was about a 9 hour straight night.  Most nights, we make it about 7 hours … but last night, for example, a BANSHEE SCREAM through the baby monitor woke me up at 1:30 a.m.  A MAD, MAD banshee scream.  I have long ago stopped feeding or picking Miriam up when she wakes in the middle of the night – but apparently, she just wants me to continue to know that she DOES NOT like it.  (unfortunately, I’ve been known to use the very same method just in a more adult manner) 

Usually, I turn on her lullaby CD or stand by the crib and talk to her, but last night (or should I say VERY EARLY this morning), Miriam was not having it.  She was bucking against my hand and pitching a major fit.  From past experience, I knew it was a fit.  You see, she did that once before – and I picked her up, convinced that she was having a seizure or was in extreme pain or thought maybe she was dying … but in the end, she just wanted me to pick her up.   Now, you may say:  why not just pick her up then?  Well, I can’t any more … I just can’t.  I’m tired, and I don’t want to do this every night for the next 14 months … although you may say:  well, obviously your crying-it-out method isn’t working either.  Yeah, I can see that … but there are those random nights when sometimes Miriam will sleep from – say – 10 p.m. until 5 a.m. before waking up for me to feed her … and that, my friends, is 7 hours of uninterrupted sleep for me (well, usually more like 5 because I hate to waste all that good quiet time sleeping …).  In the end, I’m convinced that I just got one of those babies who “just aren’t good sleepers.”

Thankfully, she will go right back to sleep after her banshee screaming  little fits or after having a snack in the early morning hours, but as you may know, for an adult, interrupted sleep is about as bad as no sleep. 

BUT other than that, Miriam is such a happy, babbling, SMART, cute baby during the day … except at nap time because she doesn’t nap well or long either (BIG SIGH!!). 

She’s still a little peanut compared to my older 2 always-90th percentile sized children; I got her size 4 diapers (for 22 lbs+) and they just about fall off of her.  She’s a talker too – we’re currently doing all the animals sounds, and she’s definitely got down bear (her favorite because of the accompanying belly tickling that goes with the ROAR), dog, cat, duck, sheep, etc.  She loves to sing – and will actually request the “ba ba ba” song (Veggie Tales – “Ba – ba – ba, I’m a little sheep.”).  Last night, Dan was trying to sing to her to get her to sleep and he started in on his usual lullaby – and Miriam, not being ready for sleeping, pushed up off him, got off our bed, hit the floor, and left the room.  Yeah, she’s got a way of expressing her opinion.  She will also tell you when she is “stinky” … she turns her little diaper bottom towards you and says, “Stinky … stinky.”  I can always hold out hope that though she may not ever sleep well, she may potty train early??!!?!?! 

I love these days though – my second chance at mommy-hood – even though it is exhausting and frustrating at times – it is still a WONDERFUL BLESSING to be Miriam’s mom!!  (and Andrew & Anna’s mom too!!!)  🙂 🙂 🙂

This entry was posted in Baby. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Tired, Old Mom Confesses:

  1. joy says:

    I totally feel your pain. But alas, this too shall pass.I used to be obsessed with counting how many hours of sleep I got at night. Somehow it would make me feel better to know that I got 4 or more STRAIGHT hours of sleep. I agree, interrupted sleep is just horrible. Even worse than not sleeping. It's like getting these little teases of deep REM sleep that you are just on the verge of, but then you wake up before you get it. Sleep torture :o)

  2. melanie says:

    {{Shut the monitor OFF at night!}} and invest in sound-absorbing drapery/something for her walls?No?=)

  3. Michelle G says:

    Isn't it funny how they do not HESITATE to let you know EXACTLY what they want WHEN they want it?!Malachi is waking up (like clockwork) every (E V E R Y) night at 12:30 and 3:30 am – He has totally stopped nursing AND decided that any milk (formula, cow ANY milk) is NOT for him! How totally weird is that? He gets a water bottle takes like 3 sips and lets me know he's peeved about it…and then goes back to sleep.weird childtired momI actually gave him some gatorade a few nights when we were on vacation…something I would have NEVER done in my younger (read …less tired…years as a mom) lolsigh…oh well:)I'm with ya!

Comments are closed.