Happy Homemaker – 3/28/11

The weather in my neck of the woods:

Overcast … 34 degrees but feels like 28, according to my little weather widget.

Things that make me happy:
an acceptably neat house, happy children, hearing my husband’s voice, yummy food. 😉
Book I’m reading:

The Missionary

What’s on my TV today:
I  think Disney Junior is on, unwatched in the living room …
On the menu for dinner:
Slow Cooker Chicken Parmesan
On my To Do List:
the usual:   laundry, dishes, finish dinner ….
hope to tackle some kind of “spring cleaning” thing today

New Recipe I tried or want to try soon:
see above on my menu for today

Looking forward to this week:
on Wednesday evening, our school is presenting a play about the life of Amy Carmichael, missionary to India, called “Binding Ties“.  My son has several non-speaking parts:  a temple guard, a servant (he has to pour tea – he’s NERVOUS!! LOL), and a seller at the market, I think, plus he’s helping back stage w/ props. 
Tips and Tricks:
I don’t really have any earth-shattering tips to share.  This week, I’ve made my TO DO list, and I plan on sticking to it as good as possible.  That is what gets me through life – lots of LIST and to-do’s and goals … I try to be flexible with them, but I have to have something to keep me FOCUSED.
My favorite blog post this week:
The one that gave me a $3 off Huggies diapers coupons yesterday!!!!  🙂
Also, A Contentment Manifesto

No words needed (favorite photo or picture, yours or others you want to share):
VIEW FROM MY BACK DECK THIS MORNING!!!!!  3/28/11  (seriously?!)

Lesson learned the past few days:
 keep doing right, keep focused on the Lord, don’t pay attention to what other people are (seemingly) getting away with, never mind those who avoid responsibility, just keep doing what is right. 

On my mind:
As usual, my husband is never far from my thoughts.  I think because I used to work with him every day for 5+ years, now that I’m at home and not always “in the know” of what he is doing or going through, I “worry” more about him.  I don’t really mean “worry” (he can handle things just fine); but I guess I just kind of wonder what he is doing or if I could have been there, could I have helped him get something done or reminded him to do something he needed to do today … Sometimes I feel guilty that I got to quit my job to stay home – because in some ways, I feel like I abandoned him.  We started this ministry thing together … and now I’m not there.  I get to do a far easier job now by just enjoying each day with our baby girl – and I take care of the rest of my family “long distance,” it seems. 

Devotionals, Scripture Reading, Key Verses:
We ought not to be weary in doing little things for the love of God, who regards not the greatness of the work, but the love with which it is performed.

-Brother Lawrence, 17th Cent. French monastery cook

This entry was posted in Happy Homemaker. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Homemaker – 3/28/11

  1. Hello Conny! It was so good to hear from you again, and catch up on your blog. Miriam is getting so big! You look lovely! I like the longer hair and have you lost weight? So happy that you get to stay home with the children and support your hubby in prayer. A season for everything…God bless you!

  2. melanie says:

    I like the quote, Conny! I know you miss working beside your hubby, but neither of you would be happy if you weren't at home for Miriam right now – Right? You can still be his prayer warrior! ♥

Comments are closed.