Unmerited Favor

God’s grace has been defined to me in many ways. 
A popular acronym I’ve heard all my life is
“God’s Riches At Christ’s Expense.” 
At Easter time, that is something I dwell on often:  Jesus Christ, the sinless Lamb of God, sacrificed Himself on the cross for ME.  My sin-debt was paid at His expense.
G-R-A-C-E
Another definition I’ve heard often is that grace is unmerited favor.  For some reason, that is harder for me to wrap my head around.  Yes, I know I don’t deserve anything God gives me, and yet He gives.  But why?  How?  Why would He love ME, and as my pastor often says, even DELIGHT in me?  I guess I know me all too well, that I fail so often, let myself down, and don’t meet my own expectations.  But GOD – my Father – continues to delight in ME, His child, even as He observes the ways I mess up.
The only way I can truly grasp this concept is through my own parenting.  I continue to love and delight in my children even when we aren’t clicking.  Just recently my 10 year old daughter and I had an altercation, at the end of which we concluded that even though we totally DID NOT understand each other, we were going to continue to love each other.  And I am going to continue to attempt to show her my ways because I have her best interests at heart.
 
This year, I wasn’t going to buy any Easter clothes.  Sometimes in years past, we have gotten new dresses/clothes for Easter, but this year, the budget envelope for clothing was EMPTY.  I had just recently bought my daughter a casual dress she really wanted, telling her if I got it, I wouldn’t be buying any more clothes for her for a while…
But today, after surveying her closet and seeing she really didn’t have any nice spring dresses, I bought her an Easter dress (and it’s not that we don’t have any money, it’s just not in the allotted budget, making this a very special purchase).
It isn’t anything too expensive, just a Walmart dress … but it is MY way of showing my daughter I love her, to do something for her that she wasn’t expecting. 
A little unmerited favor.
Someone gave me a dress & shoes for Miriam … and a tie for Andrew. 
That was an unexpected blessing too!
I think on Easter Sunday they will be a nice-looking trio of kids … and I will be reminded that God delights in me and in my children – so much so that He sent His Son to die for us – and to victoriously RISE AGAIN – that God extends this grace to all of us.  Unmerited. 
This entry was posted in Devotional Thoughts, Easter. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Unmerited Favor

  1. Mrs. Doug says:

    Isn't it wonderful to get such beautiful "hand-me-downs". You must take Resurrection Day pics of the children to post 🙂 not that you wouldn't. It's fun to see all you pictures.I was able to spend a few days with the family in DC. It was Heather's 30th b-day. Hard to believe she is already 30 or how old that makes me… yikes.It was fun to spend some time with Brandon. We went to do a little sightseeing. Went out to eat for Heather B-day with some of her officer friends and then to church and Sunday school on Sunday.It was a good long weekend… Thurs-Monday.Sorry I haven't been by in a while to see you… computer issues.Have a wonderful Easter "vacation".

  2. wonderful post! I often have to think in terms of my own parenting to try to understand His love for me, and still, I can't quite wrap my mind around it. I am just so glad He DOES!

Comments are closed.