HomeMAKER’s Challenge: Day 3

Homemakers Challenge - 31 Days to Clean

This Cleaning Thing is kind of fun … 🙂
It’s been the kick start that I needed.  I’ve been needing/wanting to do this for a long time now!
I live in this mind set, I think, that even though we bought a house 6 1/2 years ago that it is only a temporary home.  Maybe it was moving 7 times in 12 years while we were in the military, maybe it’s because growing up I lived in 6 or 7 different houses and apartments, and in college I moved in and out of 4 different dorm rooms;
I just don’t know how to settle in and just be.
When you move, it is a chance to clean out, purge, and re-organize.  We haven’t moved in 6+ years, and we’ve actually lived in the same area going on 10 years now!!  I feel a little stagnant.  I can’t re-arrange furniture in this house much; the books and clutter are taking over (don’t worry, we’re not candidates for Hoarders yet!); and so I’ve had the idea to clean things out as if we’re moving, although I just haven’t executed my plan yet UNTIL NOW.  This challenge is helping me to be able to clean out and scrub things as if I was moving out … but the bonus is I get to stay here.
Today’s challenge continues in the kitchen.  One task was to clean the outside of the cabinets.  Thankfully, I had this product handy for if I ever decided to tackle this job:
The crazy thing about this challenge is that although I only have a few tasks to do each day, once I get what I’m assigned done, I start looking around and wanting to do MORE!!  For example, today, I finally tackled the broken cabinet door.  It just needed to be glued with wood glue – an easy fix but involving removing the door, clamps, etc.
Since my fridge is now completely clean – inside and out, I figured I may as well wipe down the dishwasher and stove hood.
Plus I had a wonderful “helper” who kept me company while we sang the alphabet song and “The Itsy Bitsy Spider”.
This entry was posted in Housekeeping. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to HomeMAKER’s Challenge: Day 3

  1. We have also moved a lot for my hubs job. We have been married 11 years and have moved about 7 times. So I understand that mind set you had in place. Great job on your cabnits!! 🙂 I did our shoe closet today, pulled out all our winter stuff and organized all the summer shoes.

  2. joy says:

    That is one mighty cute "helper!" 🙂

  3. melanie says:

    As 'they' say, You GO, Girl! =)

Comments are closed.