A Very Easy Casserole

This is all that is left of our Saturday dinner … and I’m suprised there even was anything left!  Everyone had seconds … some had thirds (won’t mention any names!) … I had this casserole at my friend’s house for lunch the other day – and knew immediately my family would love it.   Meat, potatoes, vegetables … it’s all there.

This casserole is something like Shepherd’s Pie, I think.  I’m calling it
THE VERY EASY CASSEROLE

1 1/2 – 2 lbs ground beef or chuck, cooked & drained
2 cans tomato soup
2 cans green beans, drained (you could use other veggies – maybe corn?  not sure?)
a “mess” of mashed potatoes (I think I used 6 medium potatoes & fixed them like I normally do – mashed withe a little milk, sour cream, butter, and salt)
Shredded cheddar, to your families’ liking (1-2 cups?)

In a 9×13 casserole, put down the cooked meat, top with tomato soup, then layer green beans, cover with mashed potatoes and top with cheese. 
My ingredients were warm, so I only baked my casserole for about 15 minutes at 350 degrees to melt the cheese.

YOU CAN FREEZE THIS CASSEROLE and bake it later.  Guessing at 350 for about 30-45 minutes (???)

This entry was posted in recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Very Easy Casserole

  1. Yum! We have this a lot too. We call it shepherd's pie. I usually make it even easier by not cooking the meat first. Sometimes I just put it in the pan plain and sometimes I mix the meat with an egg, 1/4 cup ketchup, and some salt and pepper first. Then layer the other stuff and bake for a hour. Saves you a pan to clean up later. 🙂

Comments are closed.