Investing TIME in Our Children

We only have 2 1/2 more days of school to go:  Tuesday, Wednesday, and 1/2 a day on Friday!!  I can’t wait – I am looking forward to having my children HOME with me this summer!!!  🙂

I’ve already talked to 3 parents who aren’t quite as happy about this as I am.  One who has 3 children who are very young and very close in age told me she doesn’t know “what to do with all 3 kids at home”.  Another, who has several children, said, “I can’t wait til next school year when I only have one at home with me.”  And then I talked to a lady who was telling me how her preschooler was SO BORED at home – and that adding her school age child to the home this summer would make it WORSE not better … Seriously?

Please know I am not judging anyone because maybe I just don’t understand their situations – and it is EASY for me to be home with my kids because I do tend to be a homebody with children who are equally home-body-ish … also I admit:   yes, there were days when I was just a little relieved to have some QUIET TIME at home while the children were at school – but often, I was so ready to go pick them up once the school day was over.  I’m not against sending children to school or else I would be home-schooling, of course.  To me though, I purposely put children on this planet with the intent of taking my God-given responsibility seriously.  My point is this:

Why do people – particularly CHRISTIAN people – continue to have children if they don’t want them to be in the home or to have to deal with/work with them??!  to allow OTHER PEOPLE to be their greatest influence??  to put the responsibility of character training on their teachers and hope that the Christian school would do what they weren’t doing themselves at home?  I tend to see our Christian school as a SUPPORT and SUPPLEMENT to what we, as parents, are already trying to instill in our children – character and godly principles.  I am thankful my children can go to a good school because I’m not sure I’d do a great job of instilling the academics into them like they are getting at school – and my children enjoy their school and friends and activities there.  But I am accountable for raising my children – the school isn’t.  The school won’t stand before God and give account for what I should have been doing … in my opinion.

I’m just venting … if you don’t agree, it’s ok.  😉

I guess it mainly just makes me sad.  😦  While I realize I’m not the perfect parent, I also realize I am THE PARENT … and I pray my children will be ok despite my attempts to be one.  I pray God honors my intentions and my heart’s desire … and He has mercy on us all because of my failures! 

Perhaps it’s my personality, perhaps it is the fact that we went through infertility, perhaps it is just my duty-driven tendencies … but just because my husband and I decided to have children doesn’t mean that ANYONE ELSE should feel any obligation to help me raise them or take care of them for me.  Now, I am just as thankful as any mother to get a break – to have someone offer to watch my children while I go to an appointment or have a date with my husband (which we haven’t done in forever, but only because we haven’t made the time) OR to have the influence of grandparents or good friends in their lives along with our own.  That isn’t the scenarios I’m talking about.  I’m not even talking about a dual-working couple – and, I do know parents who change work schedules or take jobs with their children’s needs in mind.   That’s why when I worked outside my home, it was AT THE SCHOOL; so I could BE THERE with my children. 

Now, I know not everyone can do what I do … but I’ve so often seen a child’s needs sometimes trumped by parents’ selfishness, in my opinion.  😦  But it can be done:  I know a family right now where both parents are high-ranking Army officers … BUT they have somehow managed to be able to make good use of the limited family time, NOT spoil their children even though they have plenty of money, and expect respectful behavior and good character from their girls.  I’m impressed.  They ENJOY their children – despite having to rely on day care providers and babysitters due to their careers.  But they are involved, informed, and instructive.  (<<<< oooh, great alliteration, if I do say so myself!)

Eighteen years – or however long a child may be at home – isn’t very long … I’ve been married over 18 years now.  It goes by FAST!!  I’m looking at having a TEENAGER in my home in a few months.  It went FAST!  My Miriam is turning into a TODDLER.   She grew up SO FAST!

This is just MY OPINION.  Each person, each family, each parent is accountable for themselves – each must do what they think is right.  I personally don’t just want to be right (because *gasp* sometimes I am NOT), I want to be biblical!  God has shown me this FOR ME and for MY FAMILY:

Ephesians 5:16, “Redeeming the time, because the days are evil.”  To me that means make the best use of time in these evil days (just watch the news, we are in evil days!).  Now that I’m 40 years old, I realize every DAY is an opportunity.  I’m getting OLD fast too!! 

Barnes’ Notes on the Bible say this:
Redeeming the time – The word rendered here as “redeeming,” means “to purchase; to buy up” from the possession or power of anyone; and then to redeem, to set free – as from service or bondage; notes, Galatians 3:13. Here it means, to rescue or recover our time from waste; to improve it for great and important purposes.

My children will be gone from my home for good soon enough. 😦  I don’t want to waste the limited time I have with them – and I’m looking forward to TIME spent with them this summer!!  🙂

This entry was posted in school, summer. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Investing TIME in Our Children

  1. melanie says:

    Well said ~ and without need for apology when you speak truth!

Comments are closed.