It’s a Secret!

The Bible has a lot to say about being content. 
But godliness with contentment is great gain. I Timothy 6:6
Let your conversation (life style) be without coveteousness; and be content with such things as ye have.  Hebrews 13:5
..for I have learned that whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content.  Philippians 4:11
And overall, I am at peace that my life is in the center of a plan that God ordained, led by choices we have prayerfully made and resulting consequences that have brought us to where we are today.
My bills are provided for.  My children are healthy.  My marriage is happy.
The things that really matter aren’t things.
And yet I can say with the apostle Paul (in my own small way as I nowhere near can compare myself to this great man!!):
I know both how to be abased, and I know how to abound: every where and in all things I am instructed both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need. Philippians 4:12
I’ve had more; I’ve had less.
A commentator said the above verse means:
“I know how to get along with humble means, and I also know how to live in prosperity; in any and every circumstance I have learned the secret of being filled and going hungry, both of having abundance and suffering need.”
and that secret is found in verse 13:
I can do ALL THINGS through Christ which strengtheneth me.
Honestly, I’ve never gone hungry a day in my life, except by choice … but I’ve certainly had more money in the grocery budget!!
I enjoy being a homebody … but I’ve also traveled all over Europe and the United States.
I’ve lived in some big cities … and I live in a very small community.
I’ve been a position of greater responsibility … and I’ve definitely been humbled (more often than not), humanly speaking.
I have been able to be independent and carefree … and I’ve been very dependent on others for benevolence and limited by resources.
And I’m thankful for every experience.  I know God means it for my good … and I know I can be happy in His will.
So, if I know all this … and believe all this, then why am I writing this post?!
Because suddenly I have this envious need to go somewhere far away for a week or two and be relaxed and carefree like some of my friends & family are doing this summer:

 or to go back to Europe and explore the charm, history, and cuisine.

 or I’d even to go to a near-by state like Colorado where we could enjoy the scenery and “God’s creation” and beauty of the majestic mountains and forrests beyond the tick-infested, white oak woods and rolling hills of Missouri. 

Today I just kind of feel like running away …

This entry was posted in summer. Bookmark the permalink.