Family Fun?!

If I believed in jinxes, then I’d avoid the city of Tulsa, OK for the rest of my life … if I believed in “karma,” I’d think the universe was misaligned against me right now. 

Thankfully, I believe in God … I believe in His providential care and that He is good.  The quote I mentioned the other day remains true:

“Our circumstances are not an accurate reflection of God’s goodness. Whether life is good or bad, God’s goodness, rooted in His character is the same.”-Helen Grace Lescheid

Friday – on our way to going to some old friends’ son’s wedding in middle-of-no-where, Oklahoma, we had a flat tire near Tulsa.  Thankfully, within a few minutes of pulling off the interstate, before Dan could even open the trunk to get out the spare, a state trooper pulled up to assist him!  Ironically, we had just been talking about needing to replace tires on both our vehicles and about the time frame and budget to do so …

Well, the plan was soon expedited because we had to buy 4 tires when we got to Tulsa since our 1996 Buick’s original-to-the-vehicle tires were basically dry rotting!  (This was Dan’s grandma’s car which only has about 75,000 miles on it which we inherited/bought when she passed away a while ago).  Truthfully, I was just glad to get tires on the car and be on our way without having to anticipate the ordeal of finding good used tires at our local good-ol’-boy resource near our home.  Brand new tires ended up costing only about $10 more each than we pay at the resale place Dan usually goes to.  God provides. 

We had reservations to spend the night in Tulsa anyway, and all was well.  The wedding of our friends’ son today was such a blessing.  This was a child we met when he was about 4 years old (about 18 years ago!) … and now he has graduated from Bible college and found a precious Christian mate.  It makes me feel old … but it encourages me greatly to see the rewards of faithful parenting.   We hadn’t seen our friends in 10 years – and it was so great to catch up in person! 

As we left the wedding, our new tires humming along the remote Oklahoma roads, I was feeling pretty good about the whole weekend and was so thankful to just be with my little family …. As we cruised into Tulsa, I was wishing I didn’t have to go home just quite yet.  And ironically, the car began to make a funny noise, which turned into it not wanting to accelerate.  Thankfully we were not on the interstate as we were looking for a shopping center to walk around in for a short break – and so we were able to coast into a motel’s parking lot.  And here we sit – one more night together out of town, just like I wished. 

Since tomorrow is Sunday, I’m not so sure if we can get our car looked at.  Dan has called his parents – and they can come “rescue” us if need be … but it doesn’t look like we may be going anywhere until Monday at this rate.  No doubt God will provide answers in His perfect timing.  At least we have somewhere to stay … and we have much more time to look forward to spending together.  Ironically, I now want to go home …

This entry was posted in Family, vacation. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Family Fun?!

  1. melanie says:

    I am laughing… with you, I trust =)ENJOY the mini-vacation ~ God knew just what you needed!

  2. Sara H says:

    Well, not quite the vacation you'd hoped for, but… 😀 Praying you can get your car fixed on Monday, and it's not too expensive.

Comments are closed.