Perspective

On our several trips from our home to Tulsa, Oklahoma over last weekend, we drove by Joplin, Missouri each time.  On Monday, we drove into Joplin for fuel and some lunch.  Originally we saw a sign for Chick-Fil-A (and if you know me, you KNOW that’s where I’d be voting to eat!) … but as we began to see the tornado devastation, we began to be distracted by the torn-off rooves and destroyed buildings …

In fact, Chick-Fil-A was gone … being rebuilt.  Because the tornado hit on a Sunday – and Chick-Fil-A is always closed on Sundays, no one was injured or killed at that location.  

My pictures can’t do justice to what it is really like along this road of devasation.  It is heartening to see the rebuilding going on in full force.  Many of the buildings have signs on them thanking God and others for the help and provision.
I guess a drive through an area like this puts our own recent vehicle troubles in perpective … losing tires and a transmission isn’t nearly as difficult as loosing your home, livelihood, a family member, or your own life.
We have to drive by Joplin at least one more time next week to go pick up our abandoned car (it does need its transmission rebuilt), and I hope I will remember to count my blessings.  Even through the difficulties of our recent “vacation” and of life in general, God is completely in control … NOTHING can touch us that He doesn’t allow or give us His strength to get through.  We just have to rely on Him … and I’m hanging on to that hope.  I know it isn’t going to be easy for me because last night I had the worst migraine headache I’ve ever had in my entire life – and I know my body and subconscious are working overtime to process the exhaustion and stress and worry about all that is involved with our situation … but I don’t ever want to lose my trust in God’s goodness and provision for me, for my family, for those I know facing  even worse trials, and for people who live in Joplin, MO.
This entry was posted in provision, summer. Bookmark the permalink.