Revisiting my Goals

I started this year out with the goal of GETTING HEALTHIER … I was going to take it slow – I was going to approach it without a lot of pressure … I was going to make simple changes.
Well, life got in the way … and 15 pounds found their way back onto my mid section in a very short period of time … and by the time I went in to see my doctor for my annual check-up in mid-June (which is more like a when-I-get-around-to-it check-up), I was feeling pretty gross.  Nothing I could put my finger on – just fat, bloated, my fingers go numb occasionally, light-headed sometimes, no energy, blah.  I told the doctor, and he said, “ah, you’re a busy mom … and you know, you’re just right back at the weight you were at when you got pregnant back in 2009.” (which, btw, is NOT a healthy weight at all according to the BMI)
Ok, so no big deal … except that I know better!!!   I have been at this blah stage before – back in the midst of working full-time a few years ago, I felt so bad that by the time I got to the doctor, my triglyceride level was 620 mg/dL (umm, normal range is less than 150 mg/dL).  The doctor called me at 6 p.m. after reading my test results and told me to IMMEDIATELY begin a medication regime to get my levels down before I had a stroke!   I took a statin drug for a month, ate oatmeal every day for many months, and eventually everything got better again.  I reduced my work load to part-time and eventually miraculously got pregnat, had a WONDERFUL, healthy, happy pregnancy and felt great for a whole year after I had the baby.
And so history repeats itself:
Yesterday my doctor’s nurse called to say, “Dr. H—- wants you to come in to discuss your blood work.”   She wouldn’t say what … but I have a feeling my triglycerides and/or cholesterol are up again.  AND you know what – it is MY OWN FAULT.  I’ve really let myself go the last few months – I’ve let busy-ness take over again – and I’ve taken on burdens that were not mine to carry.
I haven’t tried to be healthy; I have let my emotions drive my eating;
I have taken on some negative habits.
I have put off dieting – I have thought about doing better TOMORROW –
I have not acted on what I know are the right choices for taking care of myself.
And so, even now, before I go in to see my doctor next week & get my final verdict, I am determined to be the logical, grown-up woman that I am – and with God’s help, GET HEALTHIER because
1.  I need the energy to keep up with my kids
2.  My husband needs my support and deserves a healthy wife
3.  I want to feel better
4.  I can’t afford a new wardrobe if I keep gaining weight …
and I sure can’t afford to become seriously ill or have a stroke!
I Corinthians 6:19
What? know ye not that your body is the temple of the Holy Ghost which is in you, which ye have of God, and ye are not your own?
If you are a friend of my blog, would you please pray with me that I will get a grip on my health – and make good LIFE STYLE CHOICES so that my 40s will be the healthiest years of my life yet!
And if you haven’t had a mammogram (if you are over 39) or annual check up recently, do yourself a favor, and see your doctor soon! 
Conny
This entry was posted in healthy home. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Revisiting my Goals

  1. Mrs. Doug says:

    Hello Connie, Wow, it's been a long time since I read everyone's blog. I haven't been able to get here 'cause Brandon is visiting this summer again… fun! I love having him here. However, that means I don't get any free time to post or read or do anything except the necessities such as weeding the garden, laundry, cooking and washing dishes… you know what I mean. It's a busy summer, but a good busy.Hey, that's a two-way street… I'll pray for you, you pray for "us". I hope you are able to meet your goals and will be praying for you about that. Summer is always a better time for me, but now that I am in my late 50's I see the tire around the middle settling in. It was harder this summer to shed those winter pounds. Hope you have a great day!

  2. It is well says:

    Will pray for you, and hope you'll do the same for me! I seem to go on a diet, lose a few pounds, then lose my resolve. It is not easy!

  3. ((((((Conny)))))) I will be praying for you! I so understand what you are saying & am struggling with that right now. In fact I am under a Dr care & am trying to lose weight! So far I have lost 11 pounds in 3 weeks-she wasn't happy I didn't lose anything this week. 😦 But I want to be healthy-not skinny! I want to be around to enjoy my husband when the kids are gone. I am walking 60 min every day & trust me it is hard & HOT!!!!! Tonight I went around 6 pm and it was 103! YUCK!!! Plus I am drinking more water-double yuck-yuck!!! So I know how hard it is but I know YOU can do it! Do your best today and if you fall lean on God and get back to it!

  4. Why does it have to be such a struggle to be healthy? I wish it were a whole lot easier! I will be praying for you!

  5. . says:

    I come by to visit you via one of our blogging buddies at http://heartofthehome-blog.blogspot.com/. I enjoyed browsing your blog and reading your great post.. We would like to invite you to stop by and visit us when you have a moment. Have a blessed day, and hope to see you soon.. God Bless you and yours..

  6. Sandra says:

    Praying for you Conny, I also struggle with making the right decisions when it comes to my health.

Comments are closed.