The Hausfrau MUST Make Changes!

I had my much anticipated doctor follow-up today … and as I suspected my triglyeride levels are a wee bit high (ok, way high):  489 mg/dL

The National Cholesterol Education Program sets guidelines for triglyceride levels:

Normal triglycerides means there are less than 150 milligrams per deciliter (mg/dL).
Borderline high triglycerides = 150 to 199 mg/dL.
High triglycerides = 200 to 499 mg/dL.

(source:  webmd)

My consolation is this:  a few years ago my triglyceride level was over 600 mg/dL, and I was able to bring that level down to normal again within a few months.  I’ve done it before, I can do it again!! 

The doctor says unfortunately I am probably just predisposed to having high triglycerides genetically.  Diet and exercise can help me lower my levels – but it is probably only about 30% of the solution.  The other 70% of the work needs to be done with medication – thankfully a medication I can take the lowest dose of for a few months and then wean myself off of when things get back to normal.  I will just need to have my levels monitored for the rest of my life. 

The good news is my cholesterol levels and blood pressure are GOOD!!  🙂 

AND I now also have an excuse for being lazy:  I am anemic again (or have been for a long time now).  My hematocrit (or hemogoin) levels are well below normal.  The solution to that is easy:  start taking my prenatal vitamins again – and in fact, take double dose!   I could also eat a lot of liver … but I think I’ll pass.  :-)~

I just know I’m tired of feeling tired and blah.  It is time to get a hold of myself and GET HEALTHIER!!  My friend has partnered with me – and we (along with our husbands) are going to attempt a SIX WEEK BODY MAKE OVER I’m scared to even write that out on my blog because I am the BIGGEST organized diet FAILURE.  I have unsuccessfully tried Jenny Craig, Weight Watchers, Atkin’s, and I think even Nutrisystem in the last 12+ years.  Restrictions and me don’t get along.  I’ve only ever lost weight by eating moderately or by having a baby (and no, that isn’t an option for me!!  I’m done).  Soooooooooooooooooo, I’m very cautiously sharing this fact – but I’m hopeful that I will succeed because it is no longer a matter of wanting to fit nicely into my clothes or “look good” … it is a matter of life style changes and avoiding heart disease, diabetes, and other health issues.  If I lose some weight along the way, that would be GREAT …but as my husband says, at our age, we no longer are trying to be attractive, we are just trying to NOT be repulsive.  😉 

So ………………… tomorrow my friend and I are having our initial pow-wow where she will fill me in on THE PLAN (she’s done this before) – and by the weekend, I should be on step one to a healthier me!  What I like about this “diet” is that I will be eating “normal” food for my body type (chicken, veggies, fruit).   I know I will struggle more with missing processed foods and sugar and with giving up Diet Coke.  😦   I was talking to my mom about it today, and she suggested that every time I drink water instead of Diet Coke I should put that money I saved on a can of soda into an envelope – and eventually, I can treat myself to something fun!  It’s a great idea … and sadly, it makes me think that I have reduced myself to something like a smoker giving up cigarettes – I really have an unhealthy addiction I need to break as well.  😦

I will be (hopefully) documenting my progress on my blog – and Lord willing, in a few months, I can read back over this post and see how far I’ve come!!

Conny

This entry was posted in healthy home. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Hausfrau MUST Make Changes!

  1. joy says:

    Boo for high triglycerides. Hooray for a cool new plan with a friend!Goodbye to Diet Coke. Hello tummy swishing water. lol!Do you like Gatorade? I've found that orange Gatorade is pretty palatable, and a nice substitute when I am just not in the mood for water! lol.

  2. melanie says:

    If it helps your motivation to give up the Diet Coke, I've heard that diet pop actually contributes to weight gain. Isn't that an interesting paradox?!Try to think of "GOD-made" foods, Conny ~ ((choose carefully on the man-made foods)) and enjoy the many fresh fruits/veggies available this season ~ praying for you! ♥

  3. ((((((Conny))))) Now that you know what you are dealing with it is much easier to deal with! 🙂 I know you can do it! I know how you are about the Diet Cokes since I am the same way with diet dr pepper. Can you allow yourself one or two a day? That is what I do and with it being that way I don't feel as if I am missing out. I have one at lunch and then dinner but that is it!!! A lot of the time it is just lunch but I don't beat myself up if I have one at dinner to! This has worked the best for me. I can't wait to see what kind of plan you are doing & I think having a buddy is AWESOME!!! Lonnie is kind of doing it with me but I don't always count on him so I do it alone and it is hard but I am getting better. I weigh in with the Dr. next week and I can't wait. According to my scale I lost another 4lbs so I think I am going in the right direction! Good Luck!!! I am proud of YOU!!!!!!!

Comments are closed.