Grandma’s Buick

Our 1996 Buick LeSabre is finally HOME after spending almost 3 weeks on hiatus in Tulsa, Oklahoma … (the above pic is NOT our car … ours is dinghy white … I really don’t like white cars at all – very impractical!!!, and ours is missing door trim on one side where Grandma ran into her garage trying to get the car in there.   In her defense, her garage was very narrow … and I did the same thing with my Grandpa’s 1976 Chevy when I was about 19 years old … he had a narrow garage door opening as well.  I also backed into our garage door support with our 1996 Ford Windstar once when I was about 36 years old – but never mind ….)

So, anyway, Thursday, we packed the girls into my vehicle and hit the road (Andrew has been at camp this week).  Back to Tulsa – again.  Not exactly my idea of a good time … but I got 4 hours of one-on-one with my husband!  While the girls watched DVDs, read, dozed, and played dolls in the back seat, Dan and I got to spend some time talking – much needed time talking.  Since my car has the car seat, I got 4 hours of MORE quality time with my by-then totally exhausted children on the way home too … that time wasn’t really needed as much as it was necessary.  😉 

My saddest observation of our whole day though was this:  we drove for over 8 hours – went approximately 500 miles – and we ended our day exactly in the same place that we started!!   You’d think the reward should have been ending up in a much more exciting destination than our very own driveway after all that. 

Of course, our real reward was getting our second car back – finally!!   And according to edmunds.com, what’s not to like about that car:

Review:  1996 Buick LeSabre

The Le Sabre is the most popular full-size car sold in America today, and has been for three years running. It isn’t hard to understand why. The award-winning Le Sabre has a reputation for trouble-free, comfortable motoring with accommodations for six-passengers, front-wheel drive and a torquey V6 engine pulling the whole package around town.

Never mind the part that says “trouble free” … but then again, this vehicle IS after all, 15 years old!  In dog years, our LeSabre is actually about – what? – 105.  But considering it only has 85,000 miles on it (about 20,000 of those put on it in the last about 2 years we have owned it), I’m sure it is worth it.  But most of all this car represents my love for my husband because I truly don’t have a lot of love for the car itself.  Dan is sentimental – and I honestly think that driving this car – to him – is like remembering his grandparents who originally bought the car brand new fifteen years ago … If we had abandoned this car in Tulsa when the transmission went out, it would have been as if we’d have left Grandma in Tulsa.   And so – to use the credit card commercial analogy:

4 new tires = $XXX.00
additional motel costs = $XX.00
rental car = $XX.00
fuel for 3 trips to/from Tulsa = $XXX.00
toll road fees = $4,238.00  (just kidding – but they were pretty steep.  We definitely stimulated Oklahoma’s economy – and should probably have a section of some toll road named after us!)
Having Grandma’s Buick back in our driveway = PRICELESS. 

Conny
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grandma’s Buick

  1. melanie says:

    But yes, Conny, Home Again, Home Again is truly ♥ bliss ♥ when you consider the alternative ((of being stuck in Tulsa for three weeks WITH Grandma's Buick.)) Forget the miles and remember the time for conversation with your hubby ~ I'm glad everyone/thing is home again where you belong! whew.

  2. Sara H says:

    Hooray!!!! I'm so glad this ordeal is over. Now you can relax and enjoy the rest of your summer vacation. 🙂

Comments are closed.