So, It’s Monday Again …

In Germany, the week begins on MONDAY on the calendar … As a Christian, I guess I prefer the whole idea of Sunday being “the first day of the week,” but Monday is a good day to start new routines.  And so on this Monday, I begin my (BIG GULP) new life style in earnest.  I’ve been gearing down on sweets & junk over the weekend (though I’ll admit I had some last splurges!!) already while also doing a 10 day “Herbal Cleanse” to get ready for starting over, feeling better, and getting healthy!! 

It wasn’t anything drastic or harsh … My friend recommended it to me as she is doing this new “diet” with me, and this has been a very gentle (to put it discreetly!) way to do the following:
The AdvoCare Herbal Cleanse system can help rid your body of toxins and waste with its unique blend of herbal ingredients.* Using a systematic approach, this 10-day system guides you day by day through the steps for thorough internal cleansing and improved digestion.* Herbal Cleanse supports the body’s metabolic systems and general health during the detoxification process by helping keep energy levels up, aiding in removing impurities, and supporting the immune system.* Some people who use Herbal Cleanse for the first time experience an encouraging reduction in pounds and/or inches when they pair the system with the recommended diet and exercise.
(source:  advocare.com)
And today I follow a very simple eating plan for my body type (my friend and I are loosely following the 6 Week Body Makeover diet concepts), which I really like because you just eat “normal” foods.
For example, for breakfast I had oatmeal (w/ no sugar) and apples in it.  I also had 2 scrambled egg whites.   It wasn’t bad – and it filled me up.
Then 2 1/2 hours later, I had a snack of 2 oz chicken breast and 1/2 cup potato (yes, a REAL, white, normal potato though you supposedly get better results if you eat yams or sweet potatoes, which I happen to loathe). 
Lunch is more protein and some veggies … another snack … dinner … and another snack of berries or 1/2 a grapefruit.  [I’m thinking BERRIES!!!  🙂  I love straw- and blue- and rasp-berries.]
Of course, I should be DRINKING WATER WATER WATER (which unfortunately sloshes around in my tummy like turbulent seas – but such is my lot in life! ha!).
As I figure out this diet over time, I can spice up my meals with herbs and spices and salsa or make smoothies out of my berries (with rice milk – this is – unfortunately – a no dairy diet) or add stevia to my coffee or make omelets …
I hope, I pray, I wish that I will stick to this a while and re-program my body and my cravings – and lower my triglycerides.  I will confess I fill my prescription from the dr for that, but I haven’t taken one pill yet.  I’m just a little scared of side effects and long-term effects.  :-/
Anyway, this is just a kind of “journal” for me of my process – I realize it isn’t too interesting of reading … but if you’ve come this far, I will say, thank you for all the encouraging comments & helpful tips I have already received.  I hope to soon be known as THE HEALTHY HAUSFRAU!  🙂
Conny
This entry was posted in healthy home. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to So, It’s Monday Again …

  1. Rochelle says:

    Hi Conny, I love the idea of your challenge to becoming healthier. Since crossing over to being closer to 50 than 40 my body has decided to do its own thing and I am really not liking the direction it has chosen to take. I will be following your journey and thinking about the possibilities for myself. All the best. Rochelle

  2. Thanks for sharing this, Sweets and carb's are my weakness, As a just turned 50 chef now wworking on a baking cook book it's not easy. But I can do all things in Christ who strengthen's me. So I take it one day at a time and with God's help I will get on the ideal eating path suited for me. I love your meal plan and would love to try the body cleanse. I wish you blessings and success on your chosen path. Freda

  3. Sara H says:

    Don't blame you on the meds. If you can fix it with a diet alteration it's always better. There aren't usually long-term negative effects from eating healthy. 😀

Comments are closed.