Checking In … and some SALSA

The Hausfrau lives … however, things are SUPER BUSY here this week!!  First of all, MY MOM IS HERE!!!!  🙂  OMA is in the ‘Haus!  😉  (that’s how we German folks say it! LOL).  It’s almost 1 a.m. – and I really shouldn’t be writing a blog post because I get a little giddy after midnight!  :-()

Secondly, our church is having its annual REVIVAL – MISSIONS CONFERENCE, and we are in meetings each night this week.  We are hearing from people going to Brazil, South Sudan (that’s a fairly new country!!), and Kzakistan (?) along with a few other encouraging speakers.

Thirdly, Miriam-yummy was a little under the weather with fever up to 102+ degrees from Sunday until last night.  We think it is just teething (she’s cutting eye teeth) plus maybe a little infection or bug.  Praise the Lord she is feeling much better today!!! 

And a quick HEALTHY HAUS update since my sweet new friend Rochelle is checking up and in on me (thanks, girl!):

While I am not following my fairly strict body-make-over diet this week – it is VIRTUALLY IMPOSSIBLE with dinner being served at church each night, I can say this for myself:  having lost 4 lbs (almost) last week, I am VERY VERY conscious of what I am eating this week!!  Smaller (or enough) portion sizes, leaning towards protein with “good carbs” (oatmeal is my friend), and limited desserts though I will admit I have had some fresh apple cake my mom baked AND a piece of banana bread I made so far this week.  :)~  I am also trying to continue my water drinking quest, which continues to be a struggle…

But in the end, I am encouraged that this week I am displaying SOME self-control in eating “normal”.  I won’t be losing any weight – that’s for sure – but I am consciously making BETTER choices to what I put in my mouth.

And here’s a healthy, fresh SALSA recipe for you that I am loving this week!!!!!!!  (the only downfall to it is the TORTILLA CHIPS you eat with it although my kids say you can eat this with a spoon by itself!).

BLACK BEAN SALSA
1 can black beans, drained (<– don’t say ewwww, like I did – they are actually VERY good and full of fiber!)
1 can shoepeg corn, drained (<– regular kernel corn probably wouldn’t be the same?)
3-4 tomatoes, diced
1 (or 1/2) red onion, diced
1 (or less or none) green bell pepper, diced
1 jalepeno, seeded & diced (optional – I actually used a few slices of jarred ones)
the juice of one lime (or I use RealLime)
garlic powder (about 1 tsp)
salt to taste (about 1 tsp)
1 Tbsp oil

Mix it all together … and ENJOY!!!! 

This entry was posted in Family, healthy home, Random Thoughts, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Checking In … and some SALSA

  1. YEAH on the weight loss!! Slow & steady!!! I am so stinkin' proud of you! I know it is hard-just keep at it. One day at a time!!!((((((((((Conny)))))))))))))))

  2. Karoline says:

    Liebe Conny, ich wünsche Dir viel Kraft für Deine vielen Aufgaben und viel Freude am Besuch Deiner Mutter!Liebe GrüßeKaroline

Comments are closed.