Day Book – August 2, 2011

FOR TODAY

Outside my window…
Sunshine!!   I love summer … I love the heat … especially when I can be inside with the a/c on – but I don’t even mind stepping out into the hot for a little while and feeling it warm through to my bones!  I guess I’m in the minority when I say I really don’t look forward to fall’s cooler temps 😦 to me it also signals the beginning of school which I’m not really looking forward to.  I love having my kids home with me in the summer and being less busy (though still somehow busy enough)! 
Anyway, it’s supposedly about 81 degrees right now – perfect!  The high forecasted for today is 99 degrees.
 
I am thinking…
God is so good to me … every day.  I am learning more and more about His character daily – things I probably should have learned a long time ago since I’ve been a Christian for over 30 years – but I guess I am finally ready these last few years to REALLY get to know Him!  I also have seen my NEED to know Him the older I get and the more complicated life situations I face and the older my children get.  I can’t do this LIFE thing on my own.

I am thankful…
there are still 23 days until school starts!!  That’s 3 blissful weeks to go yet!! 

In the kitchen…
sadly, more dishes that wouldn’t fit into the dishwasher last night that I probably just need to do by hand.  I should also throw something in the crockpot as we’ll be out this afternoon.

I am wearing…
black gauchos I bought at my neighbor’s yard sale (she had an almost new brown pair and a black pair!) and a tshirt.  No shoes – just like I like it!! 

I am creating…
a mess on my dining room table.  I order the curriculum for our Christian school and right now I am making book lists for each class and delegating any used textbooks we have available for students who could use the financial perk of not paying the full (expensive!!!) new book price in the upcoming school year.

I am going…
to go to a friend’s house this afternoon and float in her pool while our kids play (and watch Miriam?)!  🙂 

I am wondering…
what the future holds for my family! 

I am reading…
I just finished a fiction/suspense book, so I’m “in between” books.  Otherwise, I’m still slowly making my way through the Psalms.  I’m fixing to start Polished Cornerstones with Anna – my FREE book from Doorposts for working their book table at a home school fair this summer. 

I am hoping…
the next 3 weeks go by s—l—o—w—l—y.  It’s been a stinky summer as far as FUN, rest, or relaxation goes.  Our “vacation” was spent working the home school fair and dealing with our vehicle that had a flat tire and then a dead transmission (which took 3 weeks to resolve!) while we were at a wedding 4+ hours from home.  😦  Otherwise, while I’m thankful we’ve had a few days just being at home, it hasn’t been the restful, carefree summer I’ve dreamed of.  BUT it has been what God wanted us to experience, and therefore, I will attempt to just be thankful for the little things.  🙂

I am looking forward to…
HEAVEN.  🙂  Eternal peace and rest – and best of all, I won’t have to deal with my sinful self!! 

I am hearing…
my son and the boy I am babysitting today playing upstairs with Miriam in the midst of it all.  (Anna is at school helping with “volleyball camp” as the ball/water girl.)

Around the house…
laundry.  dirty dishes.  stacks of paperwork. 

I am pondering…
my to-do list.  I need to get busy and make a few phone calls and get busy with my book lists again.

One of my favorite things
summer days at home (or at a luxury resort in Hawaii … though I have no idea what that is truly like – but I can IMAGINE that it COULD BE one of my favorite things).

A few plans for the rest of the week:
Wednesday – getting my hair done!  Church.
Thursday – dr appt with my husband – he desperately needs a check-up though I’m dragging  him kicking and screaming … well, hopefully he WON’T create a scene 😉 
Friday – jury selection (I got picked for jury duty or at least for the pre-qualifier session) – YIKES.  Getting a letter from the local sheriff summoning you to jury selection is a little disconcerting!  
Saturday – a wedding ❤

Here is picture for thought I am sharing…
My mom was here from Tennessee last week!  We hadn’t seen her since Christmas, but Miriam took right to her Oma.  🙂

Linking up at Simple Woman’s Daybooks.

This entry was posted in day book. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day Book – August 2, 2011

  1. melanie says:

    Oh, as much as I love a sweatshirt-worthy fall day, I also love to soak up the heat of the sun… before returning to my air-conditioned house 🙂 Yesterday was just too much with the oven going – the a/c couldn't keep up.MSN currently says it's 86F here, but feels like 93F. And it's only mid-morning. The humidity AND heat this summer are a bit overwhelming. Complain, complain.But I need to email you after I find a motel near Wilson's Creek…! 😀 Fun, fun!I hope your court case is an easy one. While I believe we should do our civil duty, espec if we want to see true justice… It'd be tempting to tell them about your gun collection at home and see if they reject you 😉 😉 😉

Comments are closed.