Do Everything for God’s Glory!

LIFE:  God’s gift to me — what I do with it is my gift to Him …
We are to be good stewards of all of God’s gifts to us, and we are told to take care of our “temples”:
1 Corinthians 6:19-20, “What? know ye not that your body is the temple of the Holy Ghost which is in you, which ye have of God, and ye are not your own? 20 For ye are bought with a price: therefore glorify God in your body, and in your spirit, which are God’s”.
 Often drunkeness and other such excesses are preached about in churches, but at least in my experience, gluttony is often overlooked as an excess that is sinful:
Proverbs 23:19-21 says “Hear thou, my son, and be wise, and guide thine heart in the way. 20 Be not among winebibbers; among riotous eaters of flesh: 21 For the drunkard and the glutton shall come to poverty: and drowsiness shall clothe a man with rags”.
Drunkeness, gluttony, and laziness are all warned against in the above verses- and no doubt are all associated to the resulting poverty that comes with a lazy, overindulgent life style.  While I personally don’t see myself as a total glutton, I do feel like my inability or unwillingness to sometimes eat what is right (and drink what is right as well – my beverage of choice may not include alcohol but I’ve been warned enough of the ill effects of my beloved diet coke!) is a sin.  😦 
Does God really care about what we eat/drink?  Well, the Bible does say:
Whether therefore ye eat, or drink, or whatsoever ye do, do all to the glory of God.  I Corinthians 10:31
While the context of the above verse has to do with eating or not eating food sacrificed to idols, the principle might be the same as we can apply today and every day:  WHATEVER we do, we need to be mindful of bringing glory to GOD! 
After my recent wake-up call with a second episode with very high triglyceride levels, I have recently determined to be healthier than ever … which for me right now means drinking water, eating less processed foods, and being much more aware of what I am putting into my body. 
How’s that going?!  Well, right now – after a great start trying to follow a certain diet plan – I am currently a little stagnant.  I don’t really think I’ve had a set-back … but I am stuck.  I had lost 4 lbs and now I’ve gained 1-2 lbs back, depending on the day … and after a crazy few weeks of activities, my older 2 kids being gone (ie me NOT cooking), lots of appointments, and some day and overnight trips away, I am hopeful that with the beginning of our school year this upcoming week and with a new routine settling in that I’ll be once again ON TRACK to losing some weight & controling my health. 
My friend’s husband was recently diagnosed with high triglycerides as well … and instead of putting him on the medication I was given (which I have not taken one pill of!!), he was told by his doctor to take FISH OIL supplements.  Because of this recommendation, I’ve done some internet research on FISH OIL (and Omega-3) and so far I haven’t found one negative thing about this supplement. 
Therefore, I am now adding to my daily routine, not just 2 pre-natal vitamins (recommended by my doctor to build my iron levels as I was also severely anemic), but also FISH OIL tablets.  I will get my triglyceride levels tested again in October, and if my levels are not improved at that time, I will consider taking the prescription medication – but until then, I’m going to just continue to work on getting healthier in general.  I have much inspiration to do so; as my doctor told me:  high triglycerides come with the risk of heart attack and stroke – and if I want to see my children grow up, I need to get this under control NOW. 
Thank you for following and encouraging me in my journey to better health … I wish I had learned (and taken seriously) these principles a long time ago – but as I was talking to my 10 year old today, the sooner we learn to take care of our bodies and to do what is right in general, the easier we will have it later.  I sometimes joke that I want to just die fat & happy … but I’m rethinking this, and I think I will prefer to die healthy and happy … at the oldest age possible!  🙂  
Conny  
This entry was posted in healthy home. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Do Everything for God’s Glory!

  1. Hello Conny, So sorry to hear you are struggling with high triglycerides. You can do all things through Christ who strengthens you!!! :)God Bless!

  2. melanie says:

    I wanted to tell you since we met face to face last week how wonderful you looked ~ really! (heat aside ~ I'm talking in general health/weight etc)~ your old geezer friend who needs to move more and eat less.

  3. You can do it, Conny! I'm on the same journey. I do have a bit of weight to lose, but the wake up call was high cholesterol and high blood pressure. I take fish oil daily!

Comments are closed.