Daybook 8/29/2011

FOR TODAY

Outside my window…
A glorious 71 degrees! 

I am thinking…
about several people & families who are hurting and have serious needs right now:
~baby Lilah (who I’ve asked prayer for in the last few weeks) is facing some plastic surgery on Tuesday to close up her back (she has spina bifida).
~Dan’s dad may be facing open heart surgery (valve replacement) – medical tests tomorrow will determine what & when …
~another marriage of someone we love seems to be headed for divorce 😦
~a pregnant teen we know
~another teen who is in boarding school as a “last-ditch effort”
(P.S.  for fun, I looked up the origin of the phrase “last-ditch effort” and it is a militry term that means the last defense effort)

I am thankful…
for God’s plan for my life, revealed one step at a time, not years in advance as I’d prefer it to be!

In the kitchen…
my first attempts at menu planning … making a list of my family’s favorite (simple) week day meals (what are yours?)

I am wearing…
a dress I got at Goodwill … empire waisted, made of tshirt material – almost as comfy as a nightgown!

I am creating…
order in my home – slowly but surely.  Last week I cleaned out our utility room and the pantry shelves.  Upcoming:  the master bedroom closet – but I need hubby’s help on this.  Last time I did this I threw out his 1988 Olympics (from Korea) tshirt and he wasn’t happy. 

I am going…
to take my husband for a doctor appointment today – he’s been having some gastrointestinal issues – nothing serious but he’s probably at that age where one needs to get a colonoscopy and such …

I am wondering…
what God is up to!  I don’t always understand things happening to and around me … but I don’t have to.  He’s in control, and He knows what is best. 

I am reading…
Psalms (still puttering through my Bible at my own pace – love the Psalms especially in this season of my life)

I am hoping…
to get organized SOME DAY SOON … to feel like I’m back in control over the clutter, the budget, my health, etc.

I am looking forward to…
The Labor Day Holiday weekend – hoping I can talk my husband into doing something FUN that does not involve going to the same places we always go (in other words, his parents’ house!)

I am hearing…
Miriam rambling to herself as plays here in the living room and lecturing our cats “No, kitty.  No, ma’am!”   Bossy little thing!

Around the house…
stacks of paperwork that need to be conquered:  mostly payroll stuff and accounts payable for the school/church intersparced with mail, magazines, coupons, and things I want to sort/organize.

I am pondering…
how to tackle all I want to do … financially and physically.  I would LOVE to redecorate my 1988 bathroom by painting the cabinet and walls – but I’ve never attempted anything like this!  I also would LOVE to replace our toilets as they are both horribly inefficient and leaky and gross and old – I’ve researched it and I think Dan and I could do it if we can scrape up the money for new ones. 

One of my favorite things…
hearing Miriam sing, watching her “color”, following her thinking processes as she lines up her toys or imitates me (with the phone or by pointing the remote at the tv or throwing away things in the trash)

A few plans for the rest of the week:
might check out the baby music class my kids’ piano teacher offers at the library tomorrow
Wednesday is church – the last week before we start directing the Patch the Pirate Club children’s program again for the rest of the school year
Thursday I am working at school in the lunch room and later at the office.  Miriam LOVES to be around the school kids and some have joked that she should just enroll in the K-4 program since she knows her ABCs and can count to 10.  🙂

Here is picture for thought I am sharing…
1st day of school 2011:

Linking up with Simple Woman’s Book

This entry was posted in day book. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daybook 8/29/2011

  1. soraya3 ღ says:

    hi connie God bless you thanks for passing by…loves soraya

  2. melanie says:

    Hi Conny!Have a good week : )

Comments are closed.