5 Minute Friday: REST

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.2. Link back here and invite others to join in.

Today’s topic is REST: 

Oh, how many times have I muttered under my breath, “I guess I will rest when I am dead …”  As a busy mom and wife, I don’t take a lot of time to just sit down and rest – and even if I sit down, it seems that there isn’t any rest to it because someone wants something or someone is talking or there is something on the tv …

While I can’t say I never ever just sit down and do NOTHING (or I sit down and read blogs!!), that is just taking a break … my definition of REST coincides very closely to the word QUIET as well as the word ALONE.  With a 20 month old in the house, I am very seldom ALONE.  Not even in the bathroom (moms of small children, you know what I mean!!). 

Some people recharge around other people – they are what we call a “people person” … I am what you call a homebody introvert!  I need to be alone – I crave being alone – I cheer myself on in my mind every day by trying to focus on the next time I might get a few minutes ALONE!!  to be able to have absolute quiet – and rest. 

When some people go on vacation, they do as much as they can:  Disneyland from dawn until the last fireworks at night or sightseeing all day or hiking and white water rafting and all kinds of physical activities.  While I like those things too – in moderation! – my idea of a vacation would be to go to a nice resort, somewhere to get pampered – but most of all, somewhere where I’d have a special place, a nook, a lounge chair, or a couch that was MINE ALONE so I could have peace and quiet and finally be able to just REST …

Since we can’t go on vacations like I want – there are no luxury resorts, lake front benches, or white, sandy beaches in my near future, I guess I just have to make my own times and places of REST in my simple life and home as it is now.  This requires asking for help and cooperation!  My husband knows when it is time to tell the kids “leave Mom alone and let her rest.”  And most of all, I need to find my ultimate REST in the Lord’s love and peace … this kind of rest is the most restorative! 

This entry was posted in 5 Minute Friday. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 5 Minute Friday: REST

  1. Shari says:

    What a lovely reminder that rest is what we make of it. We create our own refuge of rest.

  2. soraya3 ღ says:

    AMEN conny its like you read my mind..lol..i call my job today cause i have pushing myself to much at work.. and i have a terrible backache…too much work im at home and just start blogging and i love to read your blog and saw your post…is exactly how i feel and think…the lord show me too much work is not healty…he wants we rest but also in him…enjoy your evening…

  3. Diana says:

    Well, amen and amen. Yup. When you've got little ones at home 24/7 – there is little space or time for rest. But you are ahead of the game, Conny, because you realize your need for it in specific ways: alone and quiet. Bless your husband for sensing that – and I want to encourage you to take those moments regularly. It will make all the difference in the world. It's a gift – take it with both hands.

Comments are closed.