MISSING IN ACTION:

Since Miriam was born, I’ve been in the habit of having my camera nearby always … not that I didn’t want it nearby for my older 2 kids before – but they weren’t changing every 20 seconds and doing new and exciting things every time I turned around.  I did make sure I had my camera handy for their major life events and occasionally for just random moments – but lately, my camera is always RIGHT THERE – especially now that I have a blog! “Maaaaaawwwwwwww-om, you’re NOT going to put that picture on your blog, are you??!” – mortified, almost-13-year-old son says to me often OR “YOU NEED TO PUT THIS ON YOUR BLOG, MOM” – not-shy, 10 year old daughter says to me.
I last had my camera on Thursday … Thursday I substituted in our school’s lunch room – and Miriam climbed onto the stainless steel cart we use to roll the milk and juice and cheese sticks and pudding out to the hungry kiddos.  So, I’d put the food on the top tray – and Miriam would get into the bunk-bed style shelf underneath – and I’d roll the whole deal out to serve lunch.  Thankfully, the health department didn’t decide to stop by … not sure this is what you call standard food service operations?!
It entertained the kids – and it entertained Miriam – and it made for some cute pictures – which I sadly CAN NOT show you!  My camera is missing 😦  I haven’t seen it since the cafeteria photo shoot.  I wonder if I left it at school or what … but I hope & pray I find it!  I have a cheap, standard digital camera, but it is MY camera … and I want it back!!

So, this will be putting a crimp into my blogging life until I can find my camera!!  For example, I can NOT show you my “new and improved” master bedroom closet that my husband and I cleaned out today!!  I am so proud of all the dress shirts he let me give back to Goodwill (where we got them in the first place in the last few years he has been working at our Christian school).  SERIOUSLY, we have reduced the dress shirt population down from about 75 to 50 which IS significant!  Somehow I feel like I’m tauting Selective Reduction – Survival of the Species … but only the BEST shirts stayed!! 
(sorry, weird humor – it’s late, and I’ve sniffed a lot of cleaning supplies today!).
I also color-coordinated the remaining shirts from darks to whites … and it looks SO lovely!  I thankfully have some WONDER HANGERS that I won from a MamaBzz give away from Renee many months ago that help tame the shirt collection (and a collection it is!  Once my husband starts buying something – books, a certain old TV series on DVD, or comic books as a kid – he DOES NOT STOP until every book, DVD … or shirt is found – preferably at a bargain price he can brag to me about!).  🙂
Anyway, I must say, I really like these things – they help:
So, we’ve really labored on this Labor Day weekend so far!  I continued to dust our room, get Dan to help me flip the mattress (you REALLY should do this on a regular basis, I think I was starting to sleep in a cocoon like hole in our mattress due to lack of FLIPPING), put new sheets on the bed, vacuum, etc etc etc.
My reward was to get taken out for Chinese food … and to drop off at Goodwill all the shirts and other things we have cleaned out of our closet – to include a coat that looks somewhat like this (SO happy Dan let it go – no offense if you have a coat like this – but he has absolutely no use for a full-length, black, leather, patchwork coat:

If you knew my husband, you’d know that this is just *not* HIS STYLE.  No doubt, it is an expensive coat – his brother hand-me-downed it to him a while back for some strange reason.  We should have tried to SELL IT – but you know, it IS a nice coat FOR SOMEONE ELSE – and I hope someone get s a good bargain on it at Goodwill.

So, imagine all the wonderful changes in my room and closet today … NO ONE will see them & appreciate them now that I can’t show them on my blog (well, except for me & my husband!). 

So, I am now anticipating climbing into my fresh, clean bed with its crisp sheets and hopefully no body indent in the mattress – and read a good book for a while.

Conny

This entry was posted in holiday, Housekeeping. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to MISSING IN ACTION:

  1. Renee says:

    WOW! that's a lot of dress shirts. Dh retired this summer but hasn't started a new job yet …. hopefully he won't collect that many 🙂

  2. soraya3 ღ says:

    GREAT POST…ABOUT THE CAMERA…I HAVE A DIGITAL CAMERA AND MY CELLPHONE BUT THE POINT IS I WONT TO LEARN TO TAKE GOOD SHOTS TO POST THEM ON MY BLOG.. MY HUSBAND HAS MORE IDEAS…I HEARD ABOUT THE GOODWILL IN HOLLAND WE DONT HAVE THAT I MEAN THAT I NOW..OR MAYBE IS IT THE SALVATION ARMY? (LEGER DES HEILS) ? LOVE HAVING YOU AS FRIEND.. THANKS FOR SHARING..

Comments are closed.