5 Minute Friday: IRL

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.

2. Link back here and invite others to join in.

Today’s Topic:  IN REAL LIFE
 
I suffer from some kind of multiple personality disorder, I’m sure.  Often I’m moody like the women in my family before me, and unfortunately, the men in my family never know what they might come home from work/school to find:   a smiling homemaker with dinner cooked and the table set OR a harried, exhausted, frustrated, crazy woman in a house of chaos, begging for a hamburger and french fries from a fast food establishment and a one hour break from life.
 
I grew up – after age 8 – in church and Christian school and later Bible college, and I know how to act, what to say when, and how to dress and all that … but it doesn’t always come naturally.  When I leave my house, I make sure I’m half-way decent and I try to smile and be polite to everyone I meet … but IN REAL LIFE, sometimes I don’t really feel like doing that! 
 
At church or to my friends and family – and even sometimes on this very blog – I say and write what I know I am supposed to say and write.  And that isn’t because I’m lying to you – it is because I’m speaking TRUTH to myself.  I believe what I write:  I believe the Bible – I believe that if I do what God requires He will take care of the details – I believe God will honor my intentions to serve Him and serve my family – I believe my home should be a safe haven for my family and that things should be orderly and nurturing here.  I believe it with all my heart.
 
But in real life, sometimes I get tired, discouraged, frustrated, and hurt.  My high expectations are not met.  People don’t act like I think they should.  I might feel misunderstood or overlooked.  I throw pity parties, and yes, occasionally I even pout.  While I know that isn’t how God wants me to live, that is reality. 
 
One of the biggest compliments I have been given is that I am “real”.  That’s my goal.  I don’t ever want to be told I am “perfect”!  I can’t attain that – don’t even want to – only Jesus is perfect.  I want people know that while I’d really like to have a simple, good, normal, Christian home, I sometimes stumble and I sometimes struggle.  That is my REAL LIFE.  It’s a daily walk with God – sometimes I walk closer to Him, sometimes I’m looking at Him from a distance (with me having been the one who wandered away).
 
In the end, I want my real life and my wanna-be life to be one.  I want to believe and live all the things I know to be true (and those are all the things I have learned from God’s Word!).  This Christian life is a journey – it has bumps, pot holes, and long upward crawls – but thankfully, there are times of lush valleys and joyful fields of fragrant flowers and streams of cool, fresh waters.  Each step is ordered by the Lord (Psalm 37:23) … and He shows us what is real and what is not – what to believe and live and what to avoid or forsake.  I trust HIM to reveal to me what I am to be IN REAL LIFE each day, and I sincerely want to follow that path.
 

This entry was posted in 5 Minute Friday. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 5 Minute Friday: IRL

  1. Nice blog work. I came across your blog while “blog surfing” using the Next Blog button on the Nav Bar located at the top of my blogger.com site. I frequently just travel around looking for other blogs which exist on the Internet, and the various, creative ways in which people express themselves. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Jodi says:

    I can so relate to all that you wrote!! Conny, thanks for sharing. Oh, I have a tiny favor. I really want to read you every time you write . . . can you maybe put that wiget up that we can enter our email address to get you in our inbox? Pretty please? Thanks!

  3. Your faith and transparency here is stunning. You are powerful in how you trust that He is enough. This real you is beautiful. It is the one He sees and adores. What a delight! Thank you.

  4. It is well says:

    I love that you're so real…some days, it's all sunshine and roses, and other days you just need to go throw some rocks! Right now your productiveness (or lack thereof) is dictated by your busy toddler….might as well fasten your seatbelt and enjoy….you will have time for your OWN schedule when they are all grown up! 🙂

  5. soraya3 ღ says:

    great post was a earthquake in germany i felt it behind the pc..i didnt had a clue.. later my son told me..it felt so strange.. Jesus is coming soon all these signs..God bles you my friend…goede avond (good evening)

  6. Dawn says:

    Loved this post and thanks for being real!

  7. nicolewian says:

    Being real is a wonderful compliment. It's the best thing to be!

Comments are closed.