9/11/01 – 9/11/10

So much happens in 10 years … but as I posted on facebook (copied from someone else):  I can’t even remember what I did last Tuesday, but I remember so many, many details about Tuesday, September 11, 2001. 

I can see it most obviously in my children:  on September 11, 2001, Anna was just over 10 months old, refusing to crawl, but rolling from one corner of the room to the other at whirly-gig speed!  We were already planning Andrew’s 3rd birthday coming up on 9/18.  Today Anna is 10 years old – and we are planning Andrew’s 13th birthday!  They don’t really remember 9/11 – but the day touched their lives as it began a war on terror that took their dad away from them for a year from 2003-04. 

I see 10 years very much in my own face.  I was a young mom in 2001 – with 2 miracle children I never dreamed I’d have!!  Shortly after 9/11, Andrew and Anna both came down with fevers, and I went into full mommy-panic mode!  Thankfully, we were staying with my parents while Dan was away at an Army school and we were in between duty assignments.  I called my cousin’s husband who was a pediatrician for assurance and advice, and then I worked myself into a 2 day migraine that put me to bed!  I think the stress of Dan being gone, my kids being sick, and the constant coverage of the post 9/11 events on the TV just did me in. 

Today I’m grayer (although I try to keep that secret!) and the lines on my face have found new places to furrow … I have experienced – and survived – many things I never imagined I would in these last 10 years:  a miscarriage in 2002, my husband’s year long deployment from 2003-2004, and a huge, daunting life transition from the military to the ministry … and now, surprisingly I am a mom of a baby again “in my old age”! 

Of course, my husband’s life was personally touched by 9/11 when he was called up to support the War on Terror in February of 2003 in a Combat Support Hospital south of Baghdad, Iraq.  He was among the first to go – and thankfully, he came home safe.  Working in Iraq is what solidified his call to go into full-time ministry and serve God and people, not only as a Christian, but as his career.  In that sense 9/11 changed our entire family. 

Our smallest family member Miriam has no idea what this is all about … but we will tell her.  No doubt, on the 20th anniversary of 9/11 in 2021, she will understand so much more about 9/11 means to our family and to America.  Hopefully she will never have to go through something like this in her life time … but it doesn’t seem as if the world is getting any safer or better! The one truth she will know for sure is this:  no matter how scary the world may seem sometimes, no matter how many “bad guys” are out there trying to spread hate and evil, and no matter how uncertain the future seems, GOD IS IN CONTROL! 

When Dan first deployed to Iraq, someone told me I should claim Psalm 91 as my personal assurance to cling to when I was feeling scared or lonely.  I read this Psalm almost daily during that year.  And we can continue to cling to this promise in the days ahead:

1 He that dwelleth in the secret place of the Most High
shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.

2 I will say of the LORD,
He is my refuge and my fortress:
my God; in him will I trust.

3 Surely he shall deliver thee from the snare of the fowler,
and from the noisome pestilence.

4 He shall cover thee with his feathers,
and under his wings shalt thou trust:
his truth shall be thy shield and buckler.

5 Thou shalt not be afraid for the terror by night;
nor for the arrow that flieth by day;

6 nor for the pestilence that walketh in darkness;
nor for the destruction that wasteth at noonday.

7 A thousand shall fall at thy side,
and ten thousand at thy right hand;
but it shall not come nigh thee.

8 Only with thine eyes shalt thou behold
and see the reward of the wicked.

9 Because thou hast made the LORD, which is my refuge,
even the Most High, thy habitation;

10 there shall no evil befall thee,
neither shall any plague come nigh thy dwelling.

11 For he shall give his angels charge over thee,
to keep thee in all thy ways.

12 They shall bear thee up in their hands,
lest thou dash thy foot against a stone. 

13 Thou shalt tread upon the lion and adder:
the young lion and the dragon shalt thou trample under feet.

 

14 Because he hath set his love upon me, therefore will I deliver him:
I will set him on high, because he hath known my name.

 

15 He shall call upon me, and I will answer him:
I will be with him in trouble;
I will deliver him, and honor him.

16 With long life will I satisfy him,
and show him my salvation.





This entry was posted in military. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 9/11/01 – 9/11/10

  1. Mrs. Doug says:

    I memorized Psalm 91 about 2 years ago now. It spoke to my heart then and of course still. As I listened to parts of the memorial at "ground zero" on Sunday and heard politicians reading scripture it saddened me to know most have no relationship with the God who spoke those words. I now pray the Word of God will burn in their heart and that it will bear fruit, because the Word of God is a mighty sword, even if weilded by the unsaved. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. On 09/11/01 I was teaching my 7/8 grade science class when the school administrator came in and handed me a note which said, "plane just crashed into world trade center, NYC", since our administrator was a jokester, I didn't know if I should take him seriously. But then I looked at his face and knew it was serious. As a class we went to prayer. 15 days later my grandson was born and 2 months later the father of my two daughters died. It was a tramatic time in our lives and we did feel a little weak in the knee, but God IS our refuge, our fortress and we can trust Him through the good and the bad.

  2. Rochelle says:

    Conny, Thank you for sharing your story about 9/11. As I prepared to write my post, all the activity of the day came flooding to me and your post helped remind me of what was most important about this day and how I needed to share how gratefuland saddened I am. Thanks for the reminder.

Comments are closed.