5 Minute Friday: JOY

Oh, today’s theme is EASY (well, theme itself is JOY – but that is EASY to write about!!) … who doesn’t want to live JOYfully?!

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.

2. Link back here and invite others to join in.

JOY
A few years ago, I thought I’d lost my joy … My life wasn’t going the way I imagined.  Honestly, I was angry at God, the Sovereign who I believe controls every aspect of a Christian’s life, but I manifested my anger on the one who is dearest to me on earth, my husband.  He took it as well as a godly, concerned, somewhat-helpless husband could.
Finally, I decided I was tired of being angry … I prayed for forgiveness from the One who controls every aspect of my life because He knows best – and I begged for forgiveness from my long-suffering husband.  I chose to accept and trust God’s will and ways – and I decided to choose JOY. 
To begin my journey out of my depression, I looked up every reference to JOY in the Bible and wrote them all on a back page.  What a blessing that was!  I found there could be JOY in suffering, JOY in the darkness, JOY in trials as well as in the ordinary days and in the happiest of times – so basically, every day.  While we may not always be happy in our circumstances, we can continually have JOY if we choose to.  God promises us a lot of help in maintaining it.  He gave us His Word on it.



This entry was posted in 5 Minute Friday. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 5 Minute Friday: JOY

  1. Rochelle says:

    I had no idea we both wrote about joy on the same day. I was perusing your postings and when I saw joy I thought, I just wrote about joy and then realized it was the same day. How cool is that. I guess Jesus joy was truly in the air on Friday. Hallelujah for serving a wonderful God that no matter what if we have joy we can make it through anything. Loved your post.Rochelle

  2. Hey there ,Sorry you didn't win my blog makeover giveaway… if you are ever interested, I'm free to do 2 makeovers in September and 4 in October. Just email me at curly2880 at yahoo dot comLove,Traci

  3. Julie says:

    I can relate in a lot of ways..thanks for the reminder of the ever present constant of God's promises!

  4. soraya3 ღ says:

    thats right conny not always things go the way we want to or we get things we even didnt ask for.. God nows whats best for us..and we can ged mad and irritated.. our surrounder and have joy..not necesarly we are glad the whole time no body does.. but having peace in our heart and trying to see the good in every situations..have a great weekend friend… fijne weekend…groetjes soraya

  5. Karoline says:

    Liebe Conny, danke für den schönen und hoffnungsvollen Text!Liebe GrüßeKaroline

  6. Amy says:

    Such a good reminder. And I love that you mention choosing joy. I do think that sometimes we have to CHOOSE joy and consciously live in God's promises in order to get there.

  7. Lisa says:

    We can have joy because of Jesus. How awesome that you used the Bible to battle your depression. His Word is life to our souls. :)Stopping by from The Gypsy Mama. Many blessings!

Comments are closed.