Hodge Podge

Because it’s “over the hump day” – and because I spent Monday and Tuesday soooooo busy and mostly NOT at home, I am taking it EASY this morning – and plan on just enjoying my baby girl who has snuggled up beside me to watch Mickey Mouse Clubhouse.  I’m drinking some yummy coffee and catching up on my blog reading.

Here are today’s HODGE PODGE questions with my answers:
1. Do you like chili? Red or white? Beans or no beans? Spice or no spice? Toppings?
Growing up, I hated chili … I know:  that’s un-American (then again, I’m 100% German!!).  I also hated pumpkin pie and continue to hate it … BUT I have reconciled with chili.  My initial issue with it is the BEANS (don’t really love beans); my husband LOVES beans and grew up on pinto beans and such like.  I’ve had to adapt.
 
I prefer red chili though I must say I’ve never really had a good white chili, but I probably WOULD like it (anyone got a good recipe??).  I like mine not-too-spicy – and with shredded cheddar and a dollop of sour cream, please. 

2. Red~Orange~Gold…your favorite fall color?
ORANGE makes me think of where I grew up:  Knoxville, TN – “ORANGE YOU GLAD YOU’RE A VOL??” … the Tennessee Volunteers sport the brightest, cheerfulest orange team wear ever!  Otherwise, I am not a big fan of orange.

My FAVORITE fall color is burgandy, if that counts.  My house has a lot of burgandy and gold throughout. 

3. Who did you idolize when you were growing up?
I’ve never been big on heroes.  Even as a young person, I was always somewhat skeptical of anyone too wonderful, afraid they’d let me down or something.  So, I didn’t really idolize anyone I knew in real life … except maybe my OMA (the ULTIMATE HAUSFRAU, whom this blog is dedicated to).  She is one of the few people who nurtured me and loved me unconditionally.  She was such a great cook and homemaker; I think I idolize her to this day! 
In book world, I met Corrie ten Boom as a 5th grader when I read The Hiding Place for the first time … and then Amy Carmichael.  Those ladies ARE worthy of learning from.  Ironically, neither one ever married … ?!

4. When was the last time you did something ‘arts and craftsy’? Share please.
I’m not crafty by nature … this summer I did go through a phase though:  I made felt flowers and come marshmallow flower cupcakes in May! 
FELT FLOWERS
FLOWER CUPCAKES

5. What’s a place that makes you really nervous?
Hospitals.  I could go on and on about why … but suffice it to say, I am not cut out to be a nurse or doctor or EMT or even an ER registration clerk (which I actually was for about 3 or 4 months before I got married!!).

6. Horse back riding…yay or nay (neigh?)
Only in my dreams … not in real life.

7. What is your favorite cliche?
I am sure I use a lot of them…. but right now I can’t think of any … unless you count:  There’s no place like home!  🙂

8. Insert your own random thought here.
I’ve been reading through Psalms the last few weeks (months?!) … and recently came across Psalm 46:10:
“Be still, and know that I am God: I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted in the earth.”
A commentary I was reading said that here BE STILL actually means “RELAX” or “LET GO” … I love that!  RELAX, Conny, HE IS GOD!!!! 
LET GO and Let God. <– I think that’s a cliche’ but it’s so true.  😉

This entry was posted in Hodge Podge, Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hodge Podge

  1. Mrs. Doug says:

    Gotta love these "q&a days of the week". It's so interesting to get to know people. I figured you for a chili girl… though I do understand the German aspect. My mom who was "mostly" German didn't like chili either, but especially if it was spicy.I, on the other hand, love chili… all sorts. My friend Mrs. T makes a really good blond chili. It has white beans and lots of flavor. Sadly, my husband doesn't eat chili, so the only times I get to enjoy it are when I am out somewhere, but wouldn't hesitate to order that at a restaurant. The hotter, the better in fact sometimes with a topping of jalapeno and sour cream. M-m-m-m-m makes me hungry ;)Have a great Thursday!!!

  2. Rochelle says:

    Conny, I am so envious of your Hodge Podge day. I cannotwait to be totally finish with everything for school so I can have several hodge podge days. December will be like heaven to me. Thanks for sharing and giving me something to look forward to. Also thank you for being so faithful in writing on my blog. I always enjoy your comments. Blessings,Rochelle

  3. soraya3 ღ says:

    thanks for sharing conny in the weekend ill try also to catch up on my blog..god bless you friend

  4. Joyce says:

    We're Volunteer fans here : ) Corrie ten Boom is for sure one of my heroes…I love your 'cliche' in #8!

  5. melanie says:

    Yes, Ps 46:10 is a wonderful gut verse! =)My mom & dad married in November (many years ago!) ~ not too many color photos, but she said her bridesmaids wore burgundy dresses. Flowers were mostly white spider mums. Much prettier than orange! 😉

Comments are closed.