Hodge Podge Wednesday – 10/5/11

Linking up with Joyce – From This Side of the Pond

1. What’s your favorite meal to serve on a chilly autumn evening?
Loaded potato soup has been my family’s favorite since I discovered it in a Kraft recipe booklet … We also LOVE Mexican Stew (follow the link to the recipe – it’s at the bottom of the post – ironically, this post was written when I was very newly pregnant & didn’t even know it yet – but that explains the half-finished Panera sandwich I mention here!!).  Chili is also pretty good. 

2. Are you a creature of habit? Explain.
Somewhat, yes.  I’d like to be MORE of a creature of habit in my GOOD habits … Our daily lives vary SO MUCH it is hard for me to become too attached to a certain routine because I get VERY frustrated when things don’t go the way I planned!! 

3. What food product (no longer readily available) do you remember and miss from days gone by?
In college, when the cafeteria food wasn’t looking so great, we subsisted on the Taco Bell 49, 79, 99 cent menu!  Now everything is “dollar” menu or more.  I miss 99 cent soft taco supremes!!!!   

4. What’s something you’ve lost that you’ve never been able to find? Any theories as to what happened?
With the Army, we moved a lot back in the day … on our final military move from Virginia to Missouri, we lost THE MOST things ever – even more things that disappeared or broke when we moved overseas!!  One thing that was lost was an easel I’d gotten my kids for Christmas – chalk board on one side, dry erase on the other.   How an item that big could get “lost” is a true mystery … I’m thinking it either got left behind somehow despite all the checking & double-checking after the packers left OR someone (a mover?) took it home w/ them????? 

5. Zoo~circus~ carnival…your favorite?
I’d have to say zoo … I like to walk around instead of sit & watch.  And zoo sounds way less expensive to me than circus or carnival. 

6. What song makes you feel instantly happy?
from my 1970s childhood:  Walkin’ on Sunshine by Bread! 

7. To what extent are you an argumentative person?
I certainly wouldn’t make it on a debate team … The only person I really argue with is my husband – and only if I am convinced I am right … and honestly, I’m usually not. 

8. Insert your own random thought here.
I am glad it is Fall … While I kind of dread Fall arriving each year because it means school is in full swing and winter is coming, once it gets here, I love the weather and the gorgeous, changing foliage.  I love getting out sweaters and wooly things and warm throw blankets and drinking hot chocolate again.  I am going to put off thinking about winter coming soon though!!! 

This entry was posted in Hodge Podge. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hodge Podge Wednesday – 10/5/11

  1. Monkey says:

    😦 about you loosing things while moving. I was very fearful that they were going to loose something on our move from FL to AZ but we never did.

  2. Your Mexican Stew recipe sounds amazing, thanks for sharing. I never thought about things that the movers "lost" when I was answering the question. On year the movers "lost" my brand new never been opened laptop.

  3. melanie says:

    I enjoyed reading the "Leftovers" post =) We've never eaten at Panera, but Kate is becoming a panini queen at her new job in a local eatery.

  4. auburnchick says:

    With regards to being a creature of habit…I think that in this crazy, hectic world, most of us need the consistency that routines bring up. At least that's my justification for being so tied to my own schedule. 😀

  5. Zoanna says:

    I could have written number 6! And as for fall, you've expressed it well. I don't like it since it means winter is coming, but I do like it while it's here!

Comments are closed.