The Verdict:

Potential Juror #23 was DISMISSED!!  🙂

Phew.

There is, of course, a story behind this verdict.

In short,Miriam and I arrived (a few minutes EARLY) at the courthouse … only to be told that our cellphones not only had to be TURNED OFF, but they were to be put in our vehicles!!  So, we trekked the seeming 1/2 mile back to the car (the parking situation at our courthouse is LOUSY!!) and got back to the courthouse right about on time – only to hear THE ELEVATOR WAS BROKEN, and we had to take the stairs up to the 3rd floor courtroom for jury selection. 

I arrived in the already-full courtroom and knew I had to stay near the back because I had Miriam with me.  So far, I had only given my name to the person at the metal detector at the entrance – and now to the county clerk (city clerk?  court clerk?) lady.  We stood near the door, and a really nice man offered me his seat.  Chivalry is not dead.  🙂  (There were more seats, but they were way towards the front/judge’s bench.)

Miriam was SO good … she ate her cheerio snack, drank some milk, looked at a few books I’d brought while we waited 20 minutes for instructions.  FINALLY, someone came out to speak to us – and then we were numbered.  I was #23.  Afterwards, 3 names were called – mine was the third – and then the man said, “You are dismissed.” 

And that was it.  I really, really had not expected it to be that easy (well, except for all the walking – back to my car and up 3 flights of stairs!).  THANK YOU, Lord!! 

Case closed.

This entry was posted in Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Verdict:

  1. After being given a "special dispensation" in 2010, I was told that I'll definitely have to serve in '13, once my kids are a bit older. I am already praying for a situation like yours – I'd even do the walking if that's what it would take! – because I really cannot be away from my kids for any sort of long trial. We don't have easy access to help and my husband often does not have extra vacation because he uses his up on missions trips. So I hope I, too, am quickly dismissed! :^)

  2. melanie says:

    PS – Kudos on the "early" part! well done, my friend =)

  3. melanie says:

    Ha – Love it! The Verdict. Case Closed.And you don't even have to pay them for use of their "gym" ;-)Enjoy your time AT HOME all the more this week!

Comments are closed.