A Little Housekeeping!

TODAY I am HOME ALONE … 12 hours or so of ALONE …
well, if you don’t count the CATS!
My husband took the kids to his parents’ house and left me home, nursing a sore throat, blowing my nose, and ready for some SERIOUS house cleaning.
Today I can clean things without interruptions, do some crafty things without someone wanting what I have,
I’ve got the sewing machine out, and I may even steam clean carpets if I have time!
Sometimes cleaning the house is my idea of a PERFECT day!
One little project that I am doing today is something I saw on Pinterest.
This is GENIUS – not sure why I didn’t think of it before.
I love baskets for storage – but this is turning a diaper box into a CUTE storage box:

The sample on pinterest was covered with vinyl and fabric, and the lady sewed a fitted liner for it,
 and hers had a cute matching bow on it …
but mine is the ORDINARY hausfrau method:  just wrap the box with wrapping paper!

Think I’ll be making another one or two today as well. 

I’ll leave you with a SIMPLE recipe I made this past week as well:
I know I got this from someone’s blog … but I can’t remember whose 😦  If this is your recipe:  thank you!!

POTATO BACON CASSEROLE
for an 8×8 casserole pan
4 cups frozen shredded hash browns (I actually used frozen tater tots)
1/2 cup chopped onion
8 oz. bacon, cooked & crumbled
1 c. shredded cheddar
1 can evaporated milk
1 large egg, beaten lightly
1 1/2 tsp salt (I used Lawry’s seasoned salt)
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease pan.
Layer 1/2 potatoes, 1/2 onion, 1/2 bacon, and 1/2 cheese in dish.
Repeat the layer in same order.
Combine evaporated milk, egg, and salt in bowl; pour over potato mixture.  Cover with aluminum foil.
Bake for 55-60 minutes.  Uncover.  Bake for another 5 minutes.  Let stand 10-15 minutes before serving.

This entry was posted in Housekeeping, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Little Housekeeping!

  1. hello conny,what a great idea, I love it.the recipe sounds very good. thanks for sharing!i like your blog.have a nice week,blessings,reginareginassimplelife.blogspot.com

  2. Mrs. Doug says:

    Yea! A day to clean. I sure would like that too. I work during the week, so Saturday is the cleaning day, but this week I had 3 guys tromping through all day, so I went to the garden and weeded out, pulled what was left on the corn stumps (we sell the stalks), picked the carrots and then went to my daughter's camper and worked on the floor in the kitchen. That means that my Saturday chores are pushed into the week such as laundry and mopping and dusting and all that stuff. I managed to get the floor done before work today, but still the laundry NEEDS doing. Next weekend looks to be more of the same only with MORE men tromping around plus an excavator digging up the dirt (mud…. yuk).Well, I really can't complain, it means progress at our house. I thank the Lord for every mud pancake I find on my floor, or dirty pants caked with mud 'cause it means progress. Anyway, snow is coming maybe as soon as Thursday and then the mud will be frozen.Love the box storage bin idea. When I get my sewing room back, I'll need some of those. My plastic bins didn't do so well in the cold. Many are broken and cannot be used now. Have a great day, Connie… hope you're feeling better real soon.

  3. I've not been to your blog except through my google reader in a while…love the new picture…beautiful family! I can't imagine 12 whole hours to myself. I hope you got all you wanted to get accomplished done and more!

  4. I love the covered box idea! I've been looking for about a dozen matching baskets, but they are so expensive! I might have to try this. Thanks!

  5. Maribeth says:

    Oh dear. Can you be contagious via the Internet? This evening, I started to cough and get all stuffed up and feel dreadful! Saw this and I laughed. Your casserole looks good!

  6. It is well says:

    Love this! Emily's first toy box was a cardboard shipping box + contact paper. It was lightweight so she could dump it, climb into it, put it on her head, etc. It did get destroyed in the move, but replacement was cheap! 🙂

Comments are closed.