Hodge Podge – 10/26/2011

I am again joining Joyce and friends From This Side of the Pond for HODGE PODGE WEDNESDAY.

1. What gives you goosebumps?
When a prayer – or even just a fleeting thought –  is answered right in front of my eyes … one of those miraculous moments when something I never imagined could work out, does – or something I so wished for suddenly belongs to me … and I just KNOW that God sent it my way. 

2. Halloween-are you a lover or a hater? Okay, that sounds harsh…Halloween-yay or nay?
Is there such a thing as Halloween neutral?  I’m not against it (I dressed up & trick-or-treated as a kid, and my kids did when they were younger) – but now we don’t do anything.  My husband is – I guess – a Halloween NAY sayer, so we turn out the lights and just hide out. 

3. Can you respect someone you do not trust, and can you trust someone you do not respect?

Ok, had to think on this one:  I can NOT respect someone I do not trust.  Honesty is worthy of respect; dishonesty is not. 
If I don’t trust you, I can’t respect you – or I can offer you the little bit of respect that I think every human being deserves but that’s about it.
 As for trusting someone I don’t respect … maybe?  Depends on why I don’t respect them. 

4. Apples or oranges? Yes, you have to choose.

APPLES.  I like oranges ok – but I much prefer mandarins or clementines anyway.

5. What is something you wish was in your town? (shop, restaurant, attraction, etc)

I live in the middle-of-no-where so I wish we had EVERYTHING (well, we have Walmart, Cracker Barrel, a new Panera Bread Co. and fast food places) … I especially would love to have a TARGET!!!!!!  and Olive Garden would be nice too.
  Oh and Hobby Lobby!  and ……………. well, EVERYTHING.

6. What non-food item is in your refrigerator or freezer?
ice packs

7. Are you at all superstitious?
No, not at all. 

8. Insert your own random thought here.

I have an almost-11 year old daughter.  She’s smart – straight A’s on her report cards most of the time, tested “gifted” last school year, and can retain a lot of information without too much effort.  However, as it often is with geniuses (ha!  she’s NOT really a genius), sometimes they forget to tie their shoelaces (Einstein) or comb their hair (Einstein!) … 🙂   When she was a lot younger, she once tripped over her own feet – and as we kind of chuckled at her, my husband made the comment that it was because she was a little clumsy because she was B-L-O-N-D-E, spelling the word out – to which our daughter adamantly replied, “I am NOT blind!!” 

Oh, never a dull moment. 

Just yesterday, around the dinner table, we were remembering a trip my husband had to take many years ago, and he mentioned that he was on a COMMERCIAL airliner.  Anna studied him a moment, and said, astounded, “I didn’t know you were on TV!!”  We all had no idea what she meant.  We explained we were talking about an AIRPLANE, from a commercial airline.  Again she said, “I didn’t know you were on TV!  … What commercial were you in?”  Ahhhhhh, now THAT makes perfect sense.  If you’re not blind.  😉

This entry was posted in Hodge Podge. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Hodge Podge – 10/26/2011

  1. Rochelle says:

    I love the post inquiry. When I see my faith in action, that gives me goosebumps, I don't like or celebrate Halloween, I LOVE apples and eat one every day, honeycrips or braeburn, I wish I had everything in my town as well; I also live in the middle of no where. I have to drive 30 minutes for Panera, we only have a McDonalds. Thanks for sharing.

  2. skoots1mom says:

    loving your cute kid story!

  3. It is well says:

    I cannot believe you didn't say you wished for a Chick-Fil-A!! 🙂

  4. Expats Again says:

    So agree with your # 3.

  5. Jenny says:

    I LOVE Cracker Barrel! The closest one is about 4 hours away from us, *sigh*. I will trade you our Olive Garden.

  6. melanie says:

    Fun stories about Anna ~ I'm not blind either 😉

  7. Joyce says:

    We have no chain shops/restaurants other than Panera and Burger King (not a BK fan) but Target and Wal Mart are beside the mall which is a couple towns over so only about a 15 minute drive which isn't bad. I would love to see a Whole Foods beside a Chick-fil-a in our little town : )

  8. HOOTIN' ANNI says:

    Mmmmmmmmmmm, I too love mandarin oranges. Fresh OR canned, either way –I can't turn down an offer.My HODGEPODGE Link Do come by if you can find time.

  9. Your stories about your daughter cracked me up and remind me of my sons. Also I think your answer to number one was amazing !! That is great when you get a prayer answered and you can see it happen and be fully aware of what God is doing in your life in the moment. I think so many prayers get answered in ways we don't expect or we are so caught up in everything else we don't notice.

  10. I am also pretty middle of the road about halloween. Your stories about your daughter made me giggle. I was similar when I was younger.

Comments are closed.