Hodge Podge 11/2/2011

Linking up with Joyce & Friends @ From This Side of the Pond.
1. Who taught you how to cook?
It was a team effort.  My mom – like me – isn’t really a GREAT cook; she makes a few things well (kind of “signature dishes”) and she obviously nourished a family … but it wasn’t her “thing.”  Her mother – my Oma – was a WONDERFUL cook who actually learned home making in the 1930’s as part of Germany’s Hitler Maidens program (and no, she wasn’t part of the Nazis or anything like that – it was just required she participate), and she worked for large farming families in East Prussia as a young adult, taking care of their children and households.  She was a WONDERFUL cook – but she passed away before I was really interested in learning to cook from her (my mom learned some basics from her, which she has taught me). 

In the mid 1990s, I was a young Army wife with no children yet, and my downstairs neighbor introduced me to cooking with garlic and other such things that I had NO IDEA how to work with!  She was a former dietitian and was very much into cooking from scratch with healthy ingredients.  I learned quite a bit watching her cook (thankfully, they had us over to eat OFTEN!!). 

Since then, I’m kind of self-taught.  I’ve watched a lot of Food Network and now I read a lot of blogs where I pick up tips and recipes.  I am still not a great cook, but I’ve come a long way!!  As my family says, I’m a pretty good recipe-follower any more!  🙂

2. Have you been told you think too much? Are too much of a perfectionist? Are too sensitive? Were they right?
OH MY SOUL, yes!!  Just read my blog … I think too much and over analyze all the time!!  I am not sure that I’m a perfectionist – but I know I greatly disappoint myself when I don’t meet up to my own expectations (which are VERY HIGH!!).  I can be too sensitive, but I work hard to not take things too personally.  So, anyone who has ever opened my eyes to these things (mostly my husband and closest friends), YES, they ARE absolutely correct. 

3. As a child did you have a favorite blanket or toy? Tell about it.
I had a few cherished items.  There’s a white blanket that my older daughter now has that was mine as a child.  It is more of a bed blanket as opposed to one I carried around with me.  I had a favorite doll – her name was Schlumpl (a German kind of nonsense word), and she squeaked when you pushed her belly.  She also had over all curly hair and ONE long strand right in the middle of her head (???!) which I kept always in a barrette.  Schlumpl very recently finally literally tore apart at her seams and lost all her insides and had to be thrown away.  :*(

4. What ‘institution‘ do you have the most faith in?
Honestly, not very many, if any.  I mean the government – nope.  Not even church, if you want to call it that – churches are led by people, and people can let you down, fall, or make irrational decisions.  I don’t even have faith in the institutions of higher learning as many are going so extremely liberal. 

You know, the ONE AND ONLY institution I do have hope for is THE HOME (if you can call it an institution?), particularly, my home:  my one safe, secure, though imperfect haven!! 

5. Chrysanthemumspansiesburning bushornamental cabbage…your favorite in an autumn garden?
pansies, for sure!!  love them, any color!!! 

6. What superpower do the kids in your neighborhood seem to posses?
There aren’t many kids in my neighborhood … so I don’t really know how to answer. 
7. Are you a fan of the cranberry?
I’m kindda neutral.  I can eat cranberries (gelled or berries), but I don’t “have to” have them.  Not big on cranberry juices or breads. 

8. Insert your own random thought here.

On my own blog, I am celebrating “30 Days of Thanks” this November.  I tend to sometimes see things too realistically or perhaps too negatively.  I don’t like to be let down, and I’d rather prepare for the worst and be surprised by the best.  So, focusing on gratefulness helps me dwell on POSITIVE things in my life and my surroundings. 

However, some days, I just want to quite trifling – I want to quit pretending that I’m ok and just say:  “TODAY I AM NOT OKAY – TODAY I AM NOT THANKFUL and WISH I HAD SOMETHING ELSE!!  Today I just wish I were rich, I wish I didn’t have to deal with certain people or situations, and I wish my life were different!!!!”  Just blurt it out there, shock the entire Christian community with my ungratefulness of the moment, and not be sorry about it.  Then, I’d get that out of my system, look around me, and realize I HAVE THE LIFE I AM SUPPOSED TO HAVE.  But at least I got to vent a little bit of my honest, deep-down frustrations or desires … just for a few minutes.  Then reality can settle in again – and I can truly be thankful anyway. 

(not sure if I expressed that well – because I don’t want to come across as discontent – but just saying there are moments when I AM discontent, even though I try not to be!!).  :0)

Conny
This entry was posted in Hodge Podge. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hodge Podge 11/2/2011

  1. Ist ja lustig, ich hatte aich eine Puppe, die hieß Schlumpel. Auch ich denke zu viel nach. Sehr interssant deine Antworten.LGBarbara

  2. Thanks for your sweet comments on my Hodgepodge! Your honestly on question #8 is refreshing – I totally understand, we all have pity party days, and that's ok, because then God lifts our chin up in his hands, gazes into our eyes, and smiles at us… and suddenly we see how truly and amazingly blessed we are and as we take a deep breath in, peace floods our spirits. And we wouldn't experience that if we hadn't felt discontent in the first place! 🙂 Have a great day!

  3. Joyce says:

    I think we all feel the way you do on occasion. We know there are people far worse off than we are but it doesn't mean we don't want what we want. I do think it helps to develop a grateful heart, even for the little things. Makes life sweeter. I also think its okay to vent a little on a blog : )

  4. Thanks for stopping by today. I have begun the thankfulness challenge on my Facebook status each day.

  5. Expats Again says:

    Since I now live in Munich, I love hearing your stories of your German grandmother who appears to have been a big influence on your life. Too bad someone didn't jot down some of her recipes and publish them; or at least bind them for the family as keepsakes. I think you have given me an idea to pass on down to my daughter's-in-law and granddaughters! Thanks!

  6. Godsgalnj says:

    I also learned a lot of cooking from various blogs and am totally with you on the perfectionism… and also about the home being a good institution 🙂 I find myself leaning towards discontentment at times too – and well, I find that when I focus on the smaller simple joys in every day living, the discontentment isn't as big as it can be 🙂

Comments are closed.