30 Days of Thanks – Day 4

Today it is easy to give thanks!
On this day, 11 years ago, I gave birth for the second time in my life … an amazing blessing as we never imagined we’d have one child, let alone two!!
Anna came into this world unexpectedly – 3 weeks early – and upside down!  She was breech, and I had to have a c-section to get her out after my water had already broken.  All the while, a nice midwife had been telling me that my baby was nicely head down – but apparently, the smooth bump she kept patting and indicating as the baby’s head was actually HER BOTTOM!  Even the gender of this baby was completely unknown to us as the military at the time was cutting down on health care costs by refusing to do ultrasounds except in absolutely necessary situations!
That moment, after birth, when the doctor finally proclaimed, “It’s a …….” is one of the most breath-taking that I’ve ever experienced!!
Transitioning into THE HERE AND NOW, Anna’s birthday cake today is totally unexpected too! 🙂

At first, I was at a complete loss as to what to do. I knew Anna wasn’t the kind of girl who would be completely pleased with a plain, old round or square cake … and so I began to “google” or in my case “swagbuck” search for THE perfect cake for an 11 year old girl.

Finally, I came across THE pattern for a PERFECT cake on a Betty Crocker website. 
I hoped I could pull it off!  I first baked two 9 inch round cakes and let them cool; then I cut off a bottom portion of each round.

I “glued” the two bigger portions together with chocolate frosting, browned sides out … and sculpted the left overs into the shape you see above.  Making those slightly thinner, I “glued” them together as well.

Modern art?  What would my old art teacher think?!?!?!
After some frosting and decorating (and a little tweaking yet to do), I think my cake(s) turned out pretty well for an amateur cake baker!   Can you guess (or even see clearly) what these are supposed to be?

It’s a CAKE PURSE and COIN PURSE!!  I plan to decorate the area around them more as well … with beads, lip stick, nail polish bottles, and other trinkets that an 11 year old girl might find fun.

I am so thankful for my Anna … I think my husband describes her best when he says she has absolutely no “guile” (<— it’s a biblical word, taken from the Psalms, meaning, she has no “skillful deceit or duplicity”).  Anna has a good heart.  If she does something hurtful to someone, it is without intent to be unkind, even with her brother.  Some of that is still the innocence of her childhood, but much of it is just that she has a gentle nature.
NOW that doesn’t mean she is perfect … she has other faults that I won’t dwell on but that we are working on …

In some ways, Anna and I are complete opposites.  She is very outwardly emotional – she loves to hug people and to be in the midst of a crowd.  She enjoys whatever she is doing, and she laughs easily.  She likes little children, and I foresee her being a kindergarten teacher some day because messes and chaos just don’t bother her (see above where I mention that there are SOME THINGS WE ARE WORKING ON!!!!).  She helps me lighten up; she reminds me that sometimes my sarcasm and cynicism are not very appealing; she shows me that it is ok to be vulnerable and that you may get hurt, but it should be easy to forgive and move on. 

I am so thankful for this day to celebrate my gift of Anna!  I am looking forward to watching her as she opens her presents and sees her completed cake(s) because I already know she will immediately react so excitedly.  I hope I have my camera ready!!  🙂

Happy 11th Birthday, Anna!!  I am THANKFUL for YOU!

This entry was posted in Annie-Belle, birthday, thankfulness. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 30 Days of Thanks – Day 4

  1. melanie says:

    You are no *ordinary* hausfrau, my friend ~ That birthday cake looks great! Anna will love it too : ) Happy, happy day!

  2. Liebe Conny,meine Tochter eine Tochter heisst auch Anna. Sie ist jetzt 12. Du hast einen supertollen Kuchen gemacht. Ich werde das Rezept bestimmt auch ausprobieren. Der ist für ein Mädchengeburtstag genau richtig.LGBarbara

  3. Maribeth says:

    I didn't know either time what I was having, and I loved it! But back then, 35 years ago, ultra sounds just weren't done. Oh it was special when it was announced…"it's a girl!"So Happy Birthday to your sweet Anna!!!

Comments are closed.