30 Days of Thanks – Day 7

You know, this time change thing from Saturday to Sunday wasn’t too bad!!
I’m actually kind of THANKFUL for the extra sleep and the shifting of the clock.
Miriam has gotten into some bad habits in her sleep schedule – she, like me, has become such a NIGHT OWL.  She goes to bed pretty late for a little girl and tends to sleep in somewhat late in the mornings (not good on those rare occasions when we actually need to get up & get going).  Her naps are erratic and often too late in the day to fix the too late bed time.
Moving the clock back over the weekend put her RIGHT ON SCHEDULE at least for Saturday night!!  She went down pretty early (in the new adjusted time) – woke up once to fuss – and then slept on throught until 7:30 a.m., which is a reasonable time to get up.
THEN as a bonus for me, she took a good nap after church – from 12:30 until 2:45.
NOW, I hope I don’t mess up this nice schedule by letting her sleep in late again because I enjoy the quietness of my mornings … or I sometimes fall back to sleep on the couch myself while I am doing my early morning reading/coffee drinking.
The one thing I do NOT like about this time change is HOW DARK it is so EARLY!!  Since 5:30 p.m. I’ve felt like it was bedtime because it was SO dark out!! 
I put soft flannel sheets on my bed today – topped with the featherbeds (down comforters) that I inherited from my Oma.  Now I can’t wait to get in … and I hope I can force myself to get out in the morning! 
Thankfully, we have NO WHERE to go.

 

This entry was posted in thankfulness. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 30 Days of Thanks – Day 7

  1. melanie says:

    We had our supper at 10pm {new time} last night… How crazy is that?!

  2. Maribeth says:

    Hubby likes the long days, but in many ways I wish we stayed on this "standard time" all year long. Somehow, I do better on it. But you should have heard my dogs at 5 PM last night. (really 6 PM) They wanted their dinner…NOW!!!

  3. Ja die Zeitumstellung hatten wir schon vor einer Woche. Meine Kleine hat sie gut überstanden. Aber sie ist seit einiger Zeit aus dem Rhytmus, sie macht keinen Mittagsschlaf mehr und am frühen Abend ist sie hundmüde.LGBarbara

  4. Jedidja says:

    There is already one week we have wintertime. It is dark so early! I pull the curtains and put candles on, it's cozy. But the kids bikes in the dark to catechesatie, pianolessons, sports. This is less fun. It is six hours at night really getting dark.

Comments are closed.