Hodge Podge – 11/9/2011

Joining Joyce & Friends at From This Side of the Pond for Hodge Podge Wednesday:
1. Of all the tools and gadgets you own which do you most enjoy using?

MY LAPTOP!!  Is that a tool or gadget?  I love my breadmaker WHEN I get it down, but that isn’t often because I’d eat the WHOLE LOAF if I made bread in it …

2. When (if ever) is impatience a virtue?
Not sure that impatience is EVER a virtue unless you are longingly, impatiently waiting for – say – a loved one to come home because you just CAN’T WAIT to hug them!!!  πŸ™‚

3. What temperature do you keep your thermostat set to in winter? Do you have another way to heat your house besides a furnace of some type?

I think it hovers around 67-68 degrees.  Our house’s duct system is weird, so our upstairs is always TOO hot and our downstairs is chilly.   My parents bought us an “Eden Pure” ceramic heater we use in the living room – and we have 2 space heaters for our bedroom & bathroom (downstairs).  My favorite way to stay warm is in my bed w/ flannel sheets and my Oma’s featherbeds (down comforters).  πŸ™‚

4. Do/did you have a close relationship with any of your grandparents?
I did!!!  I was born in Germany – but my mom re-married an American soldier when I was 4, and we moved to the United States.  Every summer from the time I was 6 until I was 20, I spent in Germany with my grandparents (Oma & Opa) and my biological father (but I stayed with my grandparents; he lived down the street).  I often went to Germany alone as my father paid for the plane ticket – and I got my grandparents all to myself!!  They were pretty lenient with me – and I was doted on, spoiled rotten, and had SO MUCH FUN!!  I don’t think I was too bratty despite all that – and my grandparents provided me with so many opportunities to travel and with so much family history through the stories they told me about living through the World War II era (my Opa was a manual laborer soldier, and my Oma was a refugee from East Prussia).  They read to me, sang songs with me, provided me with traditions that I still cherish and try to pass on.  My Opa died in 1986 and my Oma passed away in 1990 … but I can still remember them like I just saw them yesterday.
 
5. When did you last have a family portrait taken?
October 2010 – it is in the header of my blog πŸ™‚

6. What does the word patriotism mean to you?

It means so much more to me after my husband deployed to Iraq at the beginning of Operation Iraqi Freedom in February of 2003 and worked in a Combat Support Hospital until February 2004. 

Patriotism is the men and women whom he saw come through the hospital day after day … some without limbs or eyesight, some with no heartbeat … Patriotism is their – and so many others’ – ultimate sacrifice for freedom.

Patriotism is the men and women who treated these patients and casualties with dignity and reverence. 

Patriotism is the “folks back home” – the school children who wrote to my husband and his unit, those who prayed, my friends who supported me and my 2 children, the President who handled the War on Terror with great integrity.  Patriotism is all the generations who have lived through a war and done even the littlest of tasks to help the country and the troops retain freedom.

Patriotism is standing up when the American Flag is pledged to – shaking a veteran’s hand – and PRAYING for America each day that God would continue to bless her despite the mess it seems to be sometimes!! 

7. Do you like to play cards and if so, what’s your favorite card game?

My husband and I used to play Rook all the time (before we had children!) even though I stunk at it!!!  My kids like to play Skip-bo.  As a kid I played Rummy all the time with my step-siblings.  Again, I stunk at it!!  πŸ™‚

8. Insert your own random thought here.

I just wrote my daily “30 Days of Thanks” post for my blog … and I must say, after that, I am empty.  But in a good way!

This entry was posted in Hodge Podge. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hodge Podge – 11/9/2011

  1. Thanks for stopping by! πŸ™‚ Ooh, Laptop… good one! Especially with the coffee I made on my Keurig! πŸ™‚ Thank your husband for all he has done for our country – aren't our men wonderful?

  2. sterlingsop says:

    Wow we are so alike!! We gave the same answers to the first 2 questions and we both love playing Rummy. Are you my doppleganger by any chance lol!!Happy Wednesday to you πŸ™‚

  3. Maribeth says:

    How wonderful that you spent that time with them back in Germany.

  4. Joyce says:

    Oh I like Skip bo too : ) My hubs had an Oma and we all loved her. His family has German roots. Lovely family photo!

  5. Godsgalnj says:

    YAY! πŸ™‚ I love that you said your laptop, lol because I said the same! So happy that you had a great relationship with your grandparents πŸ™‚ Sounds like they gave you a great amount of good memories! I love your definition of patriotism – comes from a first hand experience. πŸ™‚ Happy Hodgepodge Day!!

Comments are closed.