30 Days of Thanks – Day 15

(Half way through 30 Days of Thanks already!!)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
My new favorite word the last few months has been LOVINGKINDNESS (or loving-kindness).

As I am reading through the Psalms right now, I find this word over and over and over:  never about people, always about God.  Lovingkindness:  acts of kindness, motivated by love. 

If you have read my blog for any amount of time, you may have heard me talk about how I grew up feeling very judged by God and others, especially when it came to church.  I lived with guilt and fear – and a keen sense that I was letting everyone down.  I knew God loved me in a John 3:16 kind of way (“For God so loved THE WORLD” … and I was part of THE WORLD), but I imagined He really just kind of tolerated me otherwise because I was just so pathetic. 

Through about a gabillion situations, life-lessons, experiences (good and bad), realizations, and finding a PERSONAL relationship with God that was based on His character and not mine, I have slowly come to see that God really does love ME.  I am feeling less of His judgment but seeing more of His lovingkindness in my life.  God is not out to get me – and in fact, is out to BLESS me!!  While His definition of blessings and mine sometimes differ (mine tend to focus on the material, His are more eternal), I have lived long enough and through enough to know He is working for my good and His glory. 

God – at His very core – in His nature – is full of words that heal us, draw us to Him, forgive us:  grace, mercy, faithful, true, just, sovereign, holy, good, eternal … and full of lovingkindness.

Today I am thankful to know Him … and that He knows me.  Personally.

This entry was posted in thankfulness. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 30 Days of Thanks – Day 15

  1. Maribeth says:

    Coming from an abusive home, God became my best friend. I would talk to him and pray to him, very early on in my life. I guess I was blessed. As I wasn't taught this, but learned it anyway.

  2. hi friend i can relate with what you say in your post..i had that even when i convert and God came into mylife..and thrue all trials and tribulations he show me how he cares for us he reads our heart he nows what is there no matter what people thinks thrue the years we start to get mature and realize that is always being about him..i love what you said about love faithullness.. indeed all what is pure good and noble comes from god..and he is working in our behave..even when we dont see it..later on will post my 30 days..its frozen ..i dont see your linky..maybe later..god bless you

Comments are closed.