30 Days of Thanks – Day 17

We always wanted 3 or 4 children.  After I miscarried our 3rd child in 2002 and many years went by without another pregnancy, we kind of gave up.  Then SURPRISE!  – as they say – “when you least expect it, expect it,” I was EXPECTING!!
While I am so THANKFUL for this tag-along blessing to our family, there are days like today when I have to really go back & remember how very, very much I wanted this child.

 Today started earlier than usual (for us anyway) at 7:30 a.m.  Miriam usually sleeps later than that (considering her midnight bedtime!!) … but as she watched her usual morning cartoons, I tried to wake up completely and fix us something for breakfast.  By the time I was ready to get moving, Miriam was FAST ASLEEP again on the couch!  Since I was up, I got myself ready for the day and finished some laundry and such.  She was up by 9 a.m. and running …

Later in the morning, I got a phone call from a friend – a friend I really wanted to talk to … and because it was sunny outside, we were sitting on the front porch.  Normally Miriam just kind of putters around our porch, but today, she decided to go wandering.  Engrossed in my conversation, I didn’t pay much attention until I realized my child was at the neighbors’ … the 4 doors down the road neighbors!!!  Thankfully, we live on a cul-de-sac, and we have no through traffic and almost NO traffic on weekdays when everyone is at work or school.  By the time I told my friend good-bye and ran down the street, Miriam was on my neighbor’s porch, examining the ceramic animals they had displayed there. 
I am thankful that crisis was fairly averted.

 As the day went by, Miriam decided that the fridge I was cleaning out completely was the perfect play house … she decided the cat litter box was a fun place to dig … and chipped a china tea cup from my “wedding” set as she was sticking them in the microwave.

Then while I got ready for church tonight, Miriam got a hold of my laptop and picked off about 10 keys … so if I ever skip a “p” in a post, it is because if I don’t press it just so, it doesn’t work.  Otherwise, she helped me dress herself by removing all her clothes AND her diaper while I was upstairs finding her outfit – and thankfully no further accidents happened after that.

Today I am thankful Miriam is cute.  And that she was in bed by 11 p.m.tonight … considering she DID NOT even take a nap today. 

This entry was posted in thankfulness. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 30 Days of Thanks – Day 17

  1. Rochelle says:

    Hi Conny,Thank you for sharing such a cute story today. I look forward to the day when I can remind myself of what I asked for and what the Lord provided through the blessing of a child. Thanks and I am happy for you that there was no issue with her wandering. Isn't it awesome to have a God that watches over us at all times.

  2. Rochelle says:

    Hi Conny,Thank you for sharing such a cute story today. I look forward to the day when I can remind myself of what I asked for and what the Lord provided through the blessing of a child. Thanks and I am happy for you that there was no issue with her wandering. Isn't it awesome to have a God that watches over us at all times.

  3. Liebe Conny,ich finde es schön wie du schreibst.Ja Kinder sind was ganz tolles und ich bin auch glücklich und dankbar wie du, das ich sie habe.LGBarbara

  4. melanie says:

    Repeat after me: "Some day I will miss these crazy days and nights! Some day…" Might as well laugh instead of cry, right? and give her some extra hugs ♥

  5. ttmillers says:

    Sorry if I chuckle at Miriams antics! What a delightfully active toddler! I watch children in my home and one time a girl pulled the enter key off my laptop. You can order keys online to replace them. Sorry I forget the name of the company though.

  6. nice little kid…connie this is my email..can you send it there? i push the wrong buttons on my pc and a lot of things are delete i try to send you a mail i didnt get thrue here is mines…s.ermesilia07@hotmail.com if you send it there it will be ok.thanks friend..sweet dreams…

Comments are closed.