30 Days of Thanks – Day 23

If you follow my blog, you know we’ve I’ve really been neglectful of making sure Miriam has a decent sleeping pattern.  With our first 2 kids, I was such a scheduled mom – the kids slept from 8 p.m. to 8 a.m. and took a good 2 hour nap at the same time almost every day.  We lived our lives around sleeping times.  It was THAT sacred.
Miriam came along, and apparently, I forgot how to train a child to sleep.  Somehow I don’t remember it being that hard with our first two children – but now I’m thinking that is just some kind of selective amnesia.  They didn’t just put themselves to sleep – or did they?
Well, lately, I’ve been determined to get Miriam to sleep and nap better – her late hours and sleeping in suit me just fine, but honestly, it just isn’t in sync with the rest of the world!

My first goal in life was to get this child to SLEEP THROUGH THE NIGHT … which quite honestly, took probably well over a year – and ended with me using the dreaded “scream it out” method because I was just too old and tired to get up at 2 a.m. and 4 a.m. each night any more.

Now we are struggling with naps and normal wake-up times …
Today there was no nap … but that was because Miriam didn’t wake up until 10 a.m.!
THANKFULLY, she went to bed at 8 p.m. and after a short time of fussing a few hours later, she is STILL asleep … and I will be VERY VERY THANKFUL if she wakes up at a decent time tomorrow morning!
Considering she is 23 months old today (!!!! as in on 11/22/11), I think that isn’t asking too much — of her and of ME!
This entry was posted in Baby, thankfulness. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 30 Days of Thanks – Day 23

  1. Liebe Conny,eigentlich schläft unsere Kleine gut, aber heute Nacht war sie um 2.00 Uhr wach und konnte nicht mehr schlafen, das ist anstrengend, aber was soll man machen, ich habe sie in mein Bett geholt und wir haben CD gehört, irgendwann schlief sie dann wieder.LGBarbara

  2. thanks friend connie…hope you succeed with your daughter so you also can have some rest..God bless you..byee

  3. Rochelle says:

    Conny thank you for sharing your challenges with Miriam and sleeping. I found it interesting because I am in my late forties and trying to figure out how to establish a healthy sleep pattern for myself. All the best with getting one for Miriam. As always thanks for your dedication to commenting on my blog.

Comments are closed.