Hodge Podge – 11/30/2011

Linking up with Joyce and Friends for another Hodge Podge Wednesday!

1. Do you send Christmas cards? If so about how many will you send this year? How do you display the cards you receive? Or don’t you? (gasp!)

I’ve always, always, always loved sending Christmas cards – with pictures and a family letter.  I love sending them, and I love receiving them.  I usually send about 125 cards/year – we have lived in a lot of places and this is the one way I keep up with some of the people we know from long ago.  I have displayed cards on strings of yarn roped across a wall, but lately, I just stack them in a cute little snowman box I once got a gift in. 

This year – however – *gasp!* – I may NOT be sending out cards for the first time ever.  Not sure yet … but right now the budget and the lack of inspiration are saying “Nope.” 

2. When do kids become adults?
I felt like I was an adult once I graduated high school and went away to college even though I was still 17 years old.  I had my own car and a job.  I guess once a child is no longer “under their parents’ roof” could be a good time to consider them “an adult” … however, not sure how to label the kids who live at home throughout college then?  They have the rights of an adult – the privilege to vote, eventually reaching that “legal” age of 21 – and perhaps responsibilities of an adult with a job … I don’t know the answer, I suppose.  *shrugs* 
3. Does your ‘beauty regimen’ change with the seasons?
Not too much – my skin is always dry so I always have to consider that.  I guess one change might be that in the winter I get SO pale that people often ask me if I’m sick (or tired) … and so I use a little more foundation in the winter.  In the summers I tend to just wear tinted moisturizer instead. 

4. What’s something you like to eat that might cause another person to turn up their nose?
I probably have several things.  I actually LIKE brussel sprouts – and I love sauerkraut – and I like lentil soup with a teaspoon of vinegar in it!!  🙂   My husband eats peanut butter, dill pickle, and Miracle Whip sandwiches … but don’t turn your nose up until you’ve tried it!!  😉

5. Gloves or mittens?
gloves!  must have use of my fingers!!

6. What’s the longest queue you’ve ever been in? Was it worth it? Queue=line but doesn’t queue sound nicer?
Perhaps while waiting for a lift?!?! (as in elevator! ha!!)….

No, seriously, I can’t remember – I’m not a very patient waiter-in-line person.  Maybe it was to vote?  It was a long line, and I was determined to stay. 

7. Besides Christmas, what is one thing you are looking forward to in the month of December?
Can I list 2 things??  My baby girl turns 2 on December 22, and my husband and I will celebrate our 19th anniversary on December 27! ❤

8. Insert your own random thought here.
Today is my birthday!!  🙂
This entry was posted in Hodge Podge. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Hodge Podge – 11/30/2011

  1. Tami says:

    I forgot to mention:Ich liebe Sauerkraut mit Bratwurst!!LECKER! UMMMM!

  2. Amiee says:

    Hope you had a wonderful birthday :)I must say, I would not be excited to find lentil soup on the menu. Yuck!

  3. Mrs. Doug says:

    Hello Connie, I still read you blog posts that I recieve via email now. Love that feature. Don't have much time to do anything but read by snatches. Just wanted to wish you a Very Happy Birthday!God Bless,

  4. Lynda says:

    Birthday blessings to you Conny!!

  5. hi connie i saw you visit me thanks friend…i read you finished your 30 days thank..i will continued i cant link by you i guess..but i just will keep posting it..nice to join you we will keep in touch..ok? loves soraya

  6. Joyce says:

    We put a dash of vinegar in our lentil soup too. I love it! Congratulations on your upcoming anniversary! Lots to celebrate in December : )

  7. Hallo Conny,du hast Geburtstag heute, alles Liebe und Gute von uns hier. War schön diese Antworten von dir zu lesen. LGBarbara

  8. My Kid's Mom says:

    WOW – just read your comment on my post. My parents were married in Tazwell, TN. There's an Olde Mill Inn Bed & Breakfast there – at least there used to be. I always find it amazing how I seem to be drawn to certain blogs and then find out we have something in common!

  9. Susan says:

    Hope you are able to send your Christmas cards. I think many of your friends would miss them!And Happy Birthday!! Hope your day is blessed.

  10. Word Nerd says:

    Congratulations on your upcoming anniversary!

  11. Tami says:

    Alles Gute zum Geburtstag!!!

  12. Kimberly says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU!!!! just stopping by from Wed. Hodgepodge.

  13. Happy Birthday!!!Those facts about you are really intersting to read. Especially the fact about your favorite food : Sauerkraut!!!Ich liebe Sauerkraut mit Kassler oder Sauerkraut mit Bratwurst!!!!Mir geht es auch so, ich liebe es (selbstgemachte) Karten zu verschicken und zu bekommen,aber in diesem Jahr habe ich noch keine einzige fertig. Da ich auch ein paar Freunde in Übersee habe, muss ich mich wohl ranhalten, sonst kommen die erst im neuen Jahr(ist auch schon passiert).Viel Spaß mit dem Wednesday-Hodgepodge from your side of the pond ♥Liebe GrüßeStefanie

Comments are closed.